A little joy of life: Flying

in #planes6 years ago

I’m fascinated of flying. And of planes, of course, as I am no bird 😊. The mythological stories of Icarus and Dedalus are captivating, though (before plains, people tried to fly with wings made of feathers and wax).

I’m, probably, one of the few watching the screen from the plane: “761 ground speed 742 true speed heading 19 degrees NV”. I’m glad when I hear the pilot’s voice: “please remain seated with your seat belt on as we are descending”. I “envy” him (and I “hate” all the sleepy heads with window seats).

I “envy” pilots for all the ascents and descents when they felt butterflies in the stomach. For every sunset and every storm. For each day when they rise above all and made the world small. For all the colors transforming in black, green or yellow squares.

For all the departures which meant as many returns - home.

SAM_5912-01.jpeg

SAM_5740-01.jpeg

SAM_5939-01.jpeg

SAM_5852-02.jpeg

SAM_5680-01.jpeg

Maybe that’s why I’m found of Lisbon which I have visited about five years ago. My hotel was near airport and the planes took off often. I, literally, kept my head up.

For my last vacation in Istanbul (I know, I told you about it in too many posts 😊) I took the car. But imagine the joy I felt when I visited the Florya Aquarium which is close to the airport. The plains are coming from the sea, first you see them like small birds. If they didn’t have the lights, you might wander what kind of birds are those flying next to the seagulls. This one looks like watching the landing too:

20180906_134221.jpg

I guess people need this exercise from time to time: to feel free (as a bird – they say), but fragile; to go up, with the head into the clouds and to go down again, with the feet on the ground.

Source:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Icarus

Sort:  

I miss flying! It's been a long time. One forgets being in a hurry or long layover between flights, the airplane "food," jet lag, etc. You remember the amazing view and the excitement of going somewhere :-)

You love flying too! 😊
Oh, the view, the feeling, the height!
And the food is not so bad as everybody is eating it.

Last time I flew, I made sure to be over the ocean during sunrise during a full moon. the photos were with the price difference :-)

I'd like to see those photos!

Beautiful view

Indeed, thanks for stopping by.

Congratulations @cristinaaa! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63700.12
ETH 3136.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83