Clean drops of Steem

in #plagiarism5 years ago

20190321_080431.jpg

I just noticed a payment in my wallet. Something perhaps a lot of people don't know is that @steemcleaners have a website to report abuse such as plagiarism and identity scams. The other thing that many people don't know is that they actually pay a little Steem for reports that they can verify.

Screenshot_20190321-081312_Chrome.jpg

While I don't actively hunt for plagiarism, I do come across it and report it when I have a chance. This particular one was brought to my attention through a very irrelevant comment that was left on my post that was cut and paste from somewhere with the content based off the title of the post. As people know, I am terrible at titles and rarely do my headers have much to do with the post itself.

After I flagged the comment, I checked the account and it was all spun content. When I found the original I left a link and the account proudly showed a screenshot of it passing a plagiarism tester as 100% original. Passing those tests doesn't make it original.

Spun content is taking an article and replacing words with synonyms and reformatting until it doesn't resemble the original enough to pass the tests. Still doesn't mean it isn't plagiarism in my book.

While some people disagree and don't mind the plagiarism and spinning, in my opinion earnings should be made on what s user can create themselves, especially of there is no source added. This person was passing other people's work off as their own with no attribution to the original creator. It is a type of theft.

Some people in the past have got angry at me and flagged me for months for reporting them or, flagging them for plagiarism and I remember one who was posting spectacular travel photos and would answer comments commending them with thank yous. They were all ripped from a group Facebook page from hundreds of different photographers, the watermarks trimmed off.

What I am hoping is that now that there are an increasing number of ways to earn Steem at different levels, the plagiarism through the blogs will slowly decrease as it becomes more rewarding and less risky to not steal content. However, plagiarism is often low-hanging fruit and requires next to zero skill to perform.

While I am hoping that people don't start reporting like they are the Gestapo or making a land grab like in the Salem with trials, it is good to know that there is some reward available for reporting, at least sometimes. Use it well.

I think at the end of the day though, it is going to be a losing battle because the community will expand so far and wide that there will be no way to catch even a fraction of it and it will become a standard practice. It will also hide behind the sharing idea of the free internet powered by advertisements. But, hopefully there will be ways to at least limit the abuse and damage.

20190321_075815.jpg

20190321_075953.jpg

20190321_080131.jpg

20190321_062725.jpg

Talking of original content, this is and, these images are also. These have been taken along my journey do far and i think this is how I will post for the next couple days. Some random travel images and whatever comes to mind that I consider useful or interesting, maybe even both.

Back to work for me until flight two begins.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]
(posted from phone in HEL)

Sort:  

Something we all will get used to as a social platform! I have yet to use a flag but have it on my to do list as I see this more often.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hopefully AI can eliminate plagiarism in the future.

Posted using Partiko Android

I think it probably could do it now but it is being turned to other tasks. Won't be long though.

Your phone is in Hel? Was it a particularly naughty phone before it died?

It spends most of the day tucked into my crotch pocket. It is living HEL.

HEL is the code for Helsinki airport

Oh my god, the poor thing!!!

Don't worry, I knew that ;0)

I assumed but it is for others as they tend to read the small print because they think it is something special. Really though, it is normally just more useless information that they zoom for. People are so nosey.

I hear ya!

I have noticed this too! Silly people.

Ah! can we hit with a punch their nosey nose without them notice it? };)

I can think of nothing better!!

Thay is nice to hear. Maybe this will push me also to be cautions of spammh comments to report

Could you tell me how would that work?

It will also hide behind the sharing idea of the free internet powered by advertisements.

There should be criteria to distinguish. Sharing is one thing, claiming to be an author is another, posting on the Internet does not take your intellectual property rights away. No matter what some claim they think.

This post has been included in the latest edition of SoS Daily News - a digest of all the latest news on the Steem blockchain.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 65139.82
ETH 3206.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16