You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Fake news - Plagiarism and taking things out of context

in #plagiarism7 years ago

You bring up excellent points @dickturpin. Copy/pasting your own content is ofcourse perfectly fine. That's how I started out on Steemit aswell, by using the recipes I had already posted on my Wordpress blog. In this case though, I would simply state at the bottom that it was taken from my site (with a link). I would also reply to Cheetah's comments by telling her it was my own work. There wasn't much of a problem there.

I don't really know what the licensing is for content on Steemit either! I wonder (and I'm no expert on this at all) if simply writing at the bottom of each post "My work is not to be copied and/or used without my permission" or something of the sorts would be enough...

Ofcourse, legal points aside, there is also some human decency to which we should adhere. This standard is different to anyone, but I think most people here would agree that posting someone else's content as if it were made by yourself is a pretty crappy thing to do. Steemit is basically policed by its users, so whichever license any content might fall under, people can still flag a user if they don't actually cite their source. I think this would go for your example. Whether it was copy/pasted from a different person or it was just someone being greedy, posting on two accounts, people are free to flag this user for it to show him/her that they don't feel it's okay to do this.

Anyway, either way, posting actual plagiarised content (like using a random picture someone found online), could get people into trouble if the content is protected by some form of copywrite. That would be a shame to happen, especially since we can't edit our old posts, so we can't rectify those mistakes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67310.11
ETH 3522.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71