You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Fake news - Plagiarism and taking things out of context

in #plagiarism7 years ago

If this were true the whole copyright system had been changed in silence... But it is rather common on the internet to believe such things.

The notion that everything on the internet is free has been very damaging for small independent artists and creators, but as they do not hold any power it is largely ignored by both politicians and consumers. Maybe Steemit where everybody is creators can change that ruthless delusion.

Sort:  

Maybe Steemit where everybody is creators can change that ruthless delusion.

That would be great, but it would mean basically every user needs to keep paying attention to what they upvote. People are quite easy to throw upvotes around (atleast quite a few are), so plagiarised posts are easily missed or even rewarded. Even Cheetah's comments get ignored plenty.

You're right, way too many people think everything on the internet is free to use. We all take chances when posting online. I worry sometimes that my images are being used without my permission, but as long as I don't see it happening, I can't do much about it at all. It's a risk I have to take if I want to get some visibility. I just wished people wouldn't be such crappy creatures sometimes :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66437.31
ETH 3491.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69