You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Fake news - Plagiarism and taking things out of context

in #plagiarism7 years ago

I think you are right, linking is fine, copy/pasting is not, surely not when no source is provided. I even thought we have a new law in the EU stating that when photographing eg the Eiffeltower, the owners of the Eiffeltower may ask for a fee of using their 'property' when using the photograph for commercial purposes. Meaning, the owners of assets, goods and art are even more protected then before. This must be the same for Internet. Now, the think with Steemit is that we earn money with our posts, which then means that when we use someone elses matrial, or even link to it, I can imagine the owners are allowed to ask for a fee, but am not too sure ont hat part.

Sort:  

Thank you for your comment @edje. I didn't know that about the new law! If I have to believe the ruling I just read, we should be allowed to link to a public source, even if we earn money from it. That's just a link though, I'm not sure how it works for quotes. I'd imagine using someone's image and linking to the source might not be enough. I think the safest thing there is to only use images which are free to use for commercial purposes.

I think the safest thing there is to only use images which are free to use for commercial purposes.

Agree, but I'm not sure if many of us Steemians actually do so. I dont look for it, I take whatever image I like. I also post music, links from YouTube, Soundcloud and all. I actually think most maybe even all artists posting music in their own channels at Soundcloud and YouTube do not mind their links being re-used in other posts, even when the user is payed for it like on Steemit. In the end it is promotion for them, as well as they generally allow embedding their music in our posts, which can be switched of at least on YouTube. So, I'm not to scared, but I may be in violation and may have to face the consequences.

Not so long ago I had a post about Steepshot taking part of our Steem/Steemit generated content and show this in their UI. I actually think this might be against the EU law since they take parts of the content and show that to others, in fact they create a new post from our posts. Ok, they do not make money with it. However, I do not like my posts to be degraded for their Instagram like service while eg rewards and number of votes is kept like they are in the bockchain. Most of my posts are about the text or music links, not so much the images. And what when Zapple launch their service? They will be Twitter like. Anyway, complex topic.

I think you're right about the promotion for the artists (though I'll bet some of the more popular ones would throw a tantrum over it). I've embedded some music videos in the past, but thinking about it, I think I'll share a link to the source in the future, or atleast do both.

I don't like using other people's images, because I know how I would feel if I saw someone earning money off of one of my pictures. That's why I usually use my own and make sure it's a free to use picture otherwise. I always share the source in that case.

Hmm, I hadn't heard about Steepshot yet! You're right though, showing the blockchain in other ways is a complex topic that I hadn't really given much thought yet.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62758.86
ETH 3465.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49