Should Plagiarism be a Trending Topic?

in #plagiarism7 years ago

First off I am not creating this post to upset or shame anybody.
I'm truly curious of other's opinions on the subject.

I'm not going to call anybody out, that just isn't the kind of person I am, but I noticed something here on Steemit today that concerns me;
An account with almost exclusively plagiarized video content.

Like every other creator out there I have put a lot of time, work and money into creating my content and I'd be very angry to find out somebody was using it for their own personal gain without my permission. It would be different if they asked.

The worst part is the posts I saw had absolutely no cited sources or even any sort of written commentary about the video. Just one post after another of somebody else's work and earning hundreds of $$$$ from it.

I realize there are no official rules against this sort of thing but.....
Should this be allowed?
Should the community police this problem?
Is there anything we as creators can do about it?
Would a trending "plagiarism" tag help keep people honest?

I gladly give permission to copy this for reference if you'd like to create your own post on the topic.

Let me know your thoughts
Thanks!

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99