Montreal's Chinese Lantern Festival

Every fall the Montreal Botanical Garden (Jardin Botanique) holds a lantern festival in their Chinese Garden, and I've been fortunate enough to visit it more than once. The Chinese Garden itself is the best I've ever visited, and it's only a small part of a garden complex that's easy to spend all day in, including unusual features like the Alpine Garden and the Edible Garden.

Phoenix.jpg

My first visit, in 2011, was during the day, not long after I got my 17mm tilt-shift lens, and I was particularly struck by the opportunity to get the harmonious lines of this phoenix and its environment perfect. The way the curves of the tail move into the curves of the tree here really express the care and quality the gardeners put into their work setting up the exhibit.

Chinese Garden.jpg

The centerpiece of the Chinese Garden is a large lake with a pagoda above it, and the lake itself is filled with lanterns for the festival. Even in the middle of the day the reflections are strong.

Dragon.jpg

In 2013 I was able to visit at night, to get the full effect of the lanterns and their light on the plants. The dragon above is positioned with the same tree and rock as the phoenix, just from a different angle. Again the wide angle shift lens allowed me to adjust the relative positions of the foreground and background objects to get the tree right where I wanted it, flowing out from the dragon's tail. I particularly enjoy the light here.

I have plans to return to Montreal in early October this year and possibly visit the festival again.

This has been an entry in the 1001 Places to Remember project by @archisteem and @photocircle.

Sort:  

Devinitely the night visit helps getting the effect of the light of the lanterns. Beatiful views. I loved the dragon

You got a 31.14% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @tcpolymath!

Dear @tcpolymath,

Thank you for the submission for our project – 1001 Places to Remember. Let us go through the content and will make an announcement soon for the posts which will be winning the rewards as well as qualify for the publication.

Stay tuned and Steem on!

Sincerely from,

@archisteem and team

@tcpolymath this chinese festival is looking awesome.. i hope you are enjoying..

I upvoted you post.its amazing & attractive also.Can you see my profile? @dhanu1998
if you want,upvote,follow & comment please @tcpolymath

@resteemator is a new bot casting votes for its followers. Follow @resteemator and vote this comment to increase your chance to be voted in the future!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66438.74
ETH 3268.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.39