Sort:  

Patricia Piccinini's work reminds me of a story about a divinity transforming into a bear (something to that affect) to visit children in their bed at night, I once read (if I remember correctly) out of a norse mythology Wikipedia article. I thought it was Loki, but I am not finding anything indicating it was this very character at the moment. It's been a while since I came upon this (since the days of the Pedobear meme), so my memory might be playing tricks on me.

The blog I linked to mentions "Where The Wild Things Are"- by Maurice Sendak.
Was that the story you read? https://thepsychologist.bps.org.uk/volume-22/edition-10/eye-fiction-where-wild-things-are

That was not what I was thinking about but it was quite an interesting read. The ''wild thing'' on the cover of the book even looks like a cuter version of some of Piccinini's creatures.

Guillermo Del Toro's Pan's Labyrinth also fit in the category of stories depicting a child escaping the horrors of reality by shifting to the other half of a split personnality that is the kid's own created imaginative world. How children survive asks Sendak? I guess experiencing some bigger trauma(s) growing up requires more ''mind worlds travelling'' than for others, and this might have been the case for Kim Noble.

At least Kim Noble doesn't travel the world exhibiting her work. This Piccinici goes everywhere, almost like Podesta's funding her trips, hoping to spread the evil around. She's exhibited in Asia, South America, Australia, Turkey, but not the USA that I can see ;-) hot territory for her no 1 fan.

Maybe she is unwelcomed à la ''Roman Polanski''. ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68728.62
ETH 3843.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65