Pixel Art Weekly: The Lonely Cow (My Entry/Submission + The process of making it.)

in #pixelartweekly6 years ago

So its been a week since I last posted a content here on Steemit due to the lack of ideas and because of my busy schedule recently but "TADAAAAA~". So I'm back here with my very first art themed post and my entry/submission for @jonny-clearwater 's #pixelartweekly contest!!! To be honest, this is my 2nd Pixel Art attempt. My first one (a Flappy bird mock fanart) was made 4 years ago and as far as I remember, I haven't tried to make one since then.

Anyway, I have decided to join the contest because since my buddy @ninjace won the same contest months ago, I have been waiting for an opportunity to join in but always everytime missing it out. Except for today! I have finally made it! Huuraaay!!!

The contest for this week is about COWS, yes, cows!!! Based on @jonny-clearwater 's post, he said that its because he have seen a lot of it while going through Texas. So I had this idea in mind to make a lonely cow because almost everytime we see a herd of cows, happy cows eating grass and mooing all day. But what if there is a lonely cow, alone in the world, looking for his pals, walking an endless road just to be with his same kind... Hence I present you! "The Lonely Cow"

cow-gif.gif

As I've been making some parallax backgrounds for a client a day before, I immediately thought of this idea, a lonely cow walking endlessly... Making the art and animating it wasn't that hard when compared to what I have previously thought about making pixel arts. I always thought that pixel arts are very challenging to make but I was wrong. To be honest, I especially enjoyed making the background and animating. Tracing some guide photos are very relaxing.


The Process

Before starting out the process of tracing and placing every pixels in Photoshop, I firstly googled some guide photos that I will be using for my subject(which is the cow) and the background. Here are the two photos that I used as guides for this art.
13179297812043329730Side View of a Cow.svg.hi.png stock-vector-forest-game-background-d-application-vector-design-tileable-horizontally-size-x-ready-443879794.jpg

I started the process by setting up the right dimensions, we should always remember that a smaller image size means less details while a larger one gives more. On my case, I wanted to make a moderate detailed background so I set mine at around 300x800 pixels initially and because I wanted my background to be parallax so it needed to be wider to get the effect that I wanted.

I firstly traced the outline of the cow with the pencil tool and filling it with the paint bucket tool and modify it along the way. I then animated it by repositioning the legs.
cow.gif

I then traced the background, whats important here is to do this step layer by layer, for example, making the ground on a layer, then the trees on another, then the mountains and another layer for the clouds. Here is a gif of the process for an easier understanding.
background.gif

I then placed these 2 on top of one another and cropping the image size to 300x500, letting my background to be wider than the final image dimensions so that I can animate it and make it look that its moving as well. I did this by nodging the layers to the left for each frame, having the closest assets moving more rapidly than those farthest to emulate it as we see it in real life. Easy right? :)


If you enjoyed reading/viewing this don't forget to upvote👍, follow 👀 @oppaniayu & resteem ↱

Sort:  

nice post dear mam,by the way the cow is so beautiful good art

your every post really awsome. i love to read your post and i am really impressed to see your all post... every post really great wish you best of luck thanks for shere this amazing post... keep posting becuse we wating for your post.....love it :) @Resteem

You got a 30.30% upvote from @nado.bot courtesy of @oppaniayu!

Send at least 0.1 SBD to participate in bid and get upvote of 0%-100% with full voting power.

This post has received a 11.23% upvote from thanks to: @oppaniayu.
For more information, click here!!!!
Send minimum 0.100 SBD to bid for votes.


The Minnowhelper team is still looking for investors (Minimum 10 SP), if you are interested in this, read the conditions of how to invest click here!!!
ROI Calculator for Investors click here!!!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by oppaniayu from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

You got a 1.27% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @oppaniayu! Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64060.29
ETH 3471.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52