Pixel Art Weekly Contest Entry - Cthulhu

in #pixelartweekly7 years ago

It's been a few weeks since I've been able to complete an entry for @jonny-clearwater's weekly pixel art contest. The past couple weeks I've started creating pixel art for the theme of the week, but I always seem to run out of time before I finish my piece to my likings. But alas! I was able to complete an entry for this week, and it's only Wednesday :)

cthulu-bigger.gif


I also wanted to capture some of my progress and methods of creating this creature. For those of you who are experts at making pixel art, you will probably cringe at my tedious ways. When I have time, I prefer doing things the long way. I don't like taking shortcuts in art. There's beauty in the process.

I made a few different prototypes for the Cthulhu pixel art. I initially was just going to do black and white but I felt like I needed some sort of pop of color. Red is my favorite color, and I felt like it ties in well with this weeks theme. At first for the original png pixel art I had a red border, but after animating it, I ended up taking out the red border, preferring a more simplified background.

cthulu3.png

I didn't want the Cthulhu to have too much movement. I prefer the subtle animations, especially when it's a looped gif. After animating the tentacle sways and bobbing, I thought maybe a blink would be nice.

Screen Shot 2017-08-15 at 9.18.17 PM.png

I had some difficulties making the closed eyes look more masculine and angry. I couldn't figure out how exactly to make it look the way I envisioned it. After playing around for awhile messing with the smudge tool, I finally decided to just let it be. Nonetheless I'm very happy with how my cthulhu turned out! What do you think?

If you want to enter into Jonny's pixel art contest, you can find the post with the rules here! Oh! And if you happen to enter as well, mention that I sent you ;)

Steem-_Line-3-2.png
with love small.png

Sort:  

So old school! I love it. All we need now is a chiptune to go with it 😁

That's really cool @mrslauren! You are so talented, I just don't have any experience in this!
But I really enjoyed you making it in the videos, very nice indeed!
Cheers
@progressivechef

Thanks a bunch progressivechef! It's quite enjoyable, you should try it sometime, it's pretty easy to get into :)

I'm just good in cooking..hahaha! I will surely give it a try even If i fail, still will be fun to try!

You are incredibly talented.

Thank you, that's very kind of you to say :)

looks good, but I can't help but feel there's some sort of bevel adjustment layer on top of it or something that degrades an otherwise beautiful piece. Also, it does injustice to the pixel artform ...

The dark lord! Yay!

This post has received a 1.95 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @mrslauren.

Congratulations @mrslauren! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59193.30
ETH 2532.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47