Friday Creative - Let's Pixel Art Another Sword

in #pixelart6 years ago

sword2_pixel_art_THUMB_LARGE.png

I decided to pixel art up another sword today. I got a little inspiration from Cloud's sword from Final Fantasy 7. Sort of a square, chunky looking sword. Anyway, it was fun. Check out the progression below!


Step 1

sword2_pixel_art_1.png

With a blank canvas you just have to get started. I decided to start with a very square looking hilt (handle).


Step 2

sword2_pixel_art_2.png

Next came the basic blade shape. I'm just doing outlines at this point and trying to get a general look that I like. As usual things change the farther along I get.


Step 3

sword2_pixel_art_3.png

With the outlines pretty much done, I'm just doing a little work on the details of the blade.


Step 4

sword2_pixel_art_4.png

I thought a diamond knotted look for the handle would be cool, like a katana. Apparently it's called Tsumami Maki, it's the traditional wrapping style of the tsuka or katana sword handle.


Step 5

sword2_pixel_art_5.png

Next I did a bit of detail on the guard. The little symbol on there is called Uruz which is a Norse rune meaning Aurochs which was a giant bull. Basically, it translates as strength.


Step 6

sword2_pixel_art_6.png

Time for color. I originally started coloring this sword with grays and then blues but I wasn't happy with it. I decided to do something a bit different and went with something more like copper or old brass.


Step 7

sword2_pixel_art_7.png

Removing outlines and just a bit of cleanup here and there. I'm happy with how it's looking but it's just not unique enough. I'll fix that next.


Step 8

sword2_pixel_art_8.png

I really could have split this last step into a few more. I just kept refining, trying to get a better look. I added lighting and highlights, a serrated edge to the back of the blade, as well as a bit of an overhaul of the hilt. All things considered, I'm happy with how it turned out.

Here's an animated gif of all the steps as well as a larger final version.
sword2_pixel_art_ANIMATED.gif

sword2_pixel_art_LARGE.png

If you enjoyed this post consider leaving a comment and get an upvote from me!

Sort:  

Dear friend, you do not appear to be following @artzone. Follow @artzone and get added to our voting list for valuable up-votes!

Thanks for the info, just followed. :)

This post has received a 7.85 % upvote from @boomerang.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62827.81
ETH 2583.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73