Pre-Historic Pixel Art - A Wild T-Rex Appears!

in #pixelart6 years ago (edited)

Jurassic Havoc - Almost Finished.png

Caveman vs. T-rex, a small vs. big situation. These types of scenarios leads to very inspirational art about struggle, confronting crisis and about hard earned success. Not so much of a struggle for this caveman though, which the only explanation for his confident look must be that “throw rocks till it dies” is a reliable solution for most modern day prehistorical problems.


(Edit: Steemit downscaled the image, so click here or right click on the art and pick "view image" to see it full scale)


A Piece of Art for a Game

Procress Gif.gif

This week's challenge was centered around making a Game Start Screen, the usual “Push Start” type of setting. I chose to focus only on the art, the scene itself. Doing the logo could have taken me a while if not more of what it took me to finish the art.



About the Art



The usual palette, but a bigger canvas (960 x 540). In case of Steemit downscaling the art, click here or right click it and pick "view image" to see it full scale.

For me, the best part about a giant monster is how menacing they look by showing their teeth roaring at someone, or while rushing towards the pray preparing a lethal bite. I placed just enough teeth with a little gap in between them to make it look menacing but not messy.



The background was a pain to draw. So much to detail and most of it were done with simple basic strokes. I’m still not happy with it. Its my fault for not realizing earlier that the canvas was bigger than my usual standarts, but its still an opportunity to make the T-rex even bigger and menacing.



Later I noticed while checking the image layers that the fireball actually looks good by itself without the shockwave effect around it. I was inclined to do a flamethrower effect rather than the fireball or even draw a combination of both, I'll try it one day on a rework, maybe even adding an fiery aftermath with the jungle ablaze.




Jurassic Havoc - Almost Finished.png

Thanks for Watching!



Special Thanks to:

Sort:  

WOW very cool !!! I love the composition loads <3 And the idea and the execution of it is also very fabs <3

GOOD LUCK arepazoooooo

upvotes

HAHA gracias

I read about this contest yesterday, and I am no artist, but as a gamer I am drawn to this! The T-Rex is hella cool!

Pixel art being so intrinsic to video games, just by playing something you're left with a feeling of wanting to draw your on game assets as well!

Great job on creating this piece. I tried pursuing pixel art a few times but realized it was just not my thing. Still, it's amazing what people could do with a limited number of pixel colors. Keep up the good work bro :)

Thank you. As long as you remain close to the principles, limiting your toolset, canvas, colors, you'll be pixelling great works in no time! I didnt count the colors I used but they come from a 32 color palette, and it could be even more limited!

i don't think T-Rexes can shoot fire balls out of their mouths

El grupo de promoción de @babelproyect ha votado tu contenido por considerar que es muy valioso para la comunidad y está incluido en el último resumen de post promocionados en el blog de nuestro proyecto. Esperamos gustosos que sigas compartiendo con nosotros tu obra. La meta de @babelproyect es promocionar a los artistas independientes y su obra. Nuestro equipo está compuesto por: @rahesi, @basileonardo, @seifiro, @dannaxkana, @otitrader, @thelastpoet, @abelinche, y @jorgebit. Para más información te esperamos en el canal de BABEL SIN FRONTERAS EN Discord: https://discord.gg/BytXJta

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29