I am in LOVE with my new macro lens!

in #pixel6 years ago

This is my first focus stack in Photoshop with it.


DSC_8730-2.jpg

I broke down and ordered a new lens for my Nikon D7200. I got a used Nikon 105 mm AF 2.8 D Micro Nikkor on Amazon for $250. I would love to have one of the newer 105mm G VR lenses but I don't have the $800 for one. This lens is pretty much an industry standard lens that many people have used as a benchmark to measure other lenses against.

My new baby!



10308.jpeg

I got the delivery this morning and the temperature was below freezing still so I unpackaged it and let it sit out in the house to warm up. Finally this afternoon I was able to get out and try it out. I ABSOLUTELY need a new tripod to make focus stacking much better and clearer. I go a bunch of shots of mushrooms, bark, moss, and the pine nut in the top image.

The pine nut is sitting in a small growth of moss on a rock near our entry gate. The late afternoon sun was low in the sky and the angle of the light made the pine nut stand out. I shot these manual focus, hand held, on auto. 5 images stacked to make this one. I am pretty stoked about this lens and am really looking forward to finding a ton of insects and flora get shots of.

BTS = jwf

Token = FFFARM

Check out my:

Whaleshares blog | Steemit blog | Scorum blog


For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

Feel free to join our Discord server to find out more about our BTS token FFFarm.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, following, and sharing!




Learn how to join the Byteball WCG Distribution!


FFF Runic.png


Sort:  

Oooh... You're going to have fun with that thing!

Hi, @flemingfarm!

You just got a 0.18% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63657.90
ETH 2656.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84