You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to backup wallet.dat for PIVX or other cryptos + The Do's and Don'ts when backing up

in #pivx7 years ago

Hi thanks for the helpful article. I have a question. I paid a guy (on Fiverr) $20 to set up my ChainCoin masternode on AWS, which seems to be free for a single node, which is why I did it. I paid him to do it because I have no experience at all in cloud servers etc. So this guy set it up, and in the process, sent me my public and private keys. I used the public key to send 1000 CHC from Cryptopia. Now it's done, and seems to be working. During the process I chose my own passphrase for the Certificate that's used to log on with Putty. However, the guy who set this up obviously knows my private key, and he probably had access to my wallet.dat file. So, am I correct that he can steal my coins out of the master node, or would he have to know my passphrase too? What would I have to do now to prevent that from happening? Is it too late to encrypt the wallet.dat file if he already has it unencrypted?

Sort:  

If he has your private key, then yes.

I would always recommend that you setup your own masternode, I have a tutorial for windows on my steemit

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65133.17
ETH 3480.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52