The Makarov, A Cold War Beauty!

in #pistols7 years ago

This is Natasha, she is my new favorite pistol.

018.JPG

I'm an old Marine, so I first used the M1911 .45, and then we were introduced to the Beretta 9mm (which none of us liked) around 1986 if memory serves. I have always favored the larger calibers such as the .45 and the .357 in revolver ammo. I never had much use for the 9mm or the lightly powered .380 (a sawed off 9mm). But that changed about 6 months ago...

I'm an NRA pistol instructor, range safety officer, and I also teach concealed carry courses for the state of Illinois (the last state to approve concealed carry, most likely the first state that will declare bankruptcy). I'm always looking for different pistols to use for class, and I want to give my students a variety of selection when dry firing and trying out at the range. I came across this Cold War beauty and was able to pick it up along with the holster, cleaning rod and one magazine for $299.00. It came packed with cosmoline, but after a couple hours of cleaning it was ready to fire.

History of the Makarov

The Russian Makarov design was based on the Walther PP series and was formally accepted after stringent testing and competition in 1951 to replace the Tokarev TT33. It uses a 9mm x 18 cartridge, slightly smaller than the common 9x19 but larger than a .380. The bullet is actually a 9.2mm so it is slightly bigger in diameter. Here is a photo comparing the .22, 9x18 and .45.
014.JPG

Makarov wanted the design to be simple and efficient, and this pistol does not disappoint. Consisting of only 27 parts, it is a straight blowback design and is simple to field strip. Here she is with the slide removed, just move the trigger guard to one side and the slide comes off the frame easily.

019.JPG

It is an all steel construction design, so no "Tupperware" gun here! (You know who I'm talking about). This baby can take a beating too, I watched a YouTube video as this was put into sand, dropped in a puddle and even fired underwater! The sights are a fixed military style, but this gun is super accurate. The fixed barrel construction really helps to keep you on target and the magazine holds 8 rounds with one in the chamber.

Concealed Carry Viability

020.JPG
I carry in condition one, which means a round in the chamber. I have seen too many cases where someone forgot to rack a round and it cost them their life. If you are gonna carry, be prepared to use it in the most efficient manner possible with the least amount of movement. The Makarov has a safety, but I don't use it, as that is just another step to get the gun ready to fire. I am very comfortable carrying in this state of readiness including having the hammer pulled back to put the trigger in a lighter single action mode, but you can also have the hammer forward, making your first shot a heavier double action pull. It is small enough for concealed carry, and 9 rounds is more that sufficient to stop a threat with adequate stopping power.

Dislikes

About the only thing that I don't care for is the magazine release on the heel of the magazine. This is a common European design, the "Americanized" magazine release is usually above the grip on the left hand side of the pistol, which is designed to be engaged by the thumb of a right handed shooter. The heel release forces you to use two hands to disengage the magazine, which may not always be possible in a confrontation. It does prevent an accidental release of the magazine if you happen to be running and your hand rides up too high on the grip however.

Prepper Rating

As far as using this for a preparedness sidearm, I would rate it an 8 on a scale of 1-10. It is simple in design, highly rugged, small enough to carry and decent stopping power. The drawback would be lack of available ammo, but I can buy ammo now at a cost of $18 for 50 rounds, so you can comfortably stock up or get reloading equipment without breaking the bank. I have never had a misfire with Natasha, and at a cost of $300 you can get two of these for the price of what you may normally pay for a single pistol. It is comfortable in the hand and you can get off multiple rounds quickly with the smooth trigger pull.

Conclusion

If you are looking for a rugged, fun to shoot pistol that you can take to the range and not feel the need to use white gloves with it like your "safe queen" pistols that never leave the house, then this pistol is for you. The highest recommendation I can give it is I literally trust my life to it, as it has become my every day conceal carry pistol.

I hope you enjoyed this post, I will be writing more on some of my other favorite pistols soon. Take care and stay safe!

Sort:  

Semper Fi still like my 1911 .45

Yes I still have a few as well, that is a design that holds up over 100 years now!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by makecents from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Nice write up! Here in Australia, we don't have open carry or anything like that. We can own guns, but you need a license, and you can only shoot at a gun range.

I've never used a firearm, but I'm thinking about getting a licence and learning to shoot.

I would highly recommend you doing that, it is a skill everyone should learn as this world becomes more dangerous. It angers me that we have to be licensed just to protect ourselves!

Yep! That's the main reason I want to learn how to shoot. Our society is being sold out by idiot politicians. I don't feel safe anymore, and want to be armed!

Natasha is as beautiful and she sounds. Nothing beats a quality gun. Upvoted. #prepper helping #preppers.

I purchased some Makarov 9mm ammo on accident recently and didnt catch it until I got to the range and my m&p shield 9 kept jamming. took me a bit to realize the issue. Thankfully I was able to make a deal with the guys at the range. I donated the ammo and they gave me a discount.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64097.37
ETH 3476.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53