(Non) Progress in Nextcolony -lessons to be learned

in #piratesunday5 years ago (edited)

Hi space pirates

I have good and bad news:

The good news is that I from the planet Powernap can soon start sending out some spare explorers to other closeby players of SSG. With these explorers one can start a mission to find a planet near ones own planet. I will contact members one by one in order of availability. Powernap is almost in the right upper part of the Galaxy. Deploying an explorer to others there still takes the explorer 3-4 days. I can do three to four sends at a time.

The bad news:


The chance of finding a second or third planet is key for the power of each player. Issue however is that on the one hand the developers say the chance of finding a planet is 1% (1 planet on every 100 missions) but in practice we see that some found 3 to even 6 planets with a limited number of missions and others (like me) found zero with over 100 attempts and 6 lost ships. This - although maybe statistically correct - means that for me every new mission takes now already 10 hours or more and I think of quiting the searches for this reason. I give it another week or so.

It is now better to hand over explorers to others who might be more lucky to find a planet closeby. I do not want to frustrate players but this is the reality of the game.


BUT This does mean that small players can get lucky and big spenders (those who bought extra resources like me) have to walk away or do it differently.

In hindsight the best strategy would have been to open a lot of planets with the SSG spare accounts and have one power account sending explorers to all these sub accounts. Also cheaper as not all have to built a shipyard at high cost.

TBC

Goldrooster/Powernap

source

Sort:  

It is surprising how far apart we can be. I am at lvl 8 for my explorer, so I still have a ways to go before I can start exploring. Best of luck and hopefully you will find one soon.

I'm way too busy to get in on the fun.

You're due to find another planet.. even a blind squirrel finds a nut once in a while..

@goldrooster I appreciate all of your Support on #PirateSunday.............I can't do any other games currently because I am so wrapped UP in Steemmonsters........

Are you being able to have a profit on Steem Monsters?

If you are Lucky you can. You can also play without investing anything, it just takes longer to get anywhere.

Im still trying to build a ship. 3-4 weeks to build one my arse. I cant believe it requires ship level 20.

Posted using Partiko Android

I have no idea what I'm doing on #nextcolony. I've been slowly building up my resources, but I don't log in everyday.

@powernap purchased a 59.98% vote from @promobot on this post.

*If you disagree with the reward or content of this post you can purchase a reversal of this vote by using our curation interface http://promovotes.com

This post has received a 63.08 % upvote from @boomerang.

I'm sorry, I'm new at Steem. What are those "SSG Spare Accounts" you've said??

Our club is called SSG or steemsilvergold (stackers) and we have a central acount that makes spare accounts just because we can (you pay with RC but that is complex for new steemers).

It's worse than you think. I'm now an anti @nextcolony marketing campaign - all I have to do is describe in a totally neutral way the sum of my experience - a few hundred steem, 6 weeks of game play and this:

Screenshot 20190524 at 16.58.06.png

And then mention that it's quite likely that 30% of accounts will have the same or less fortunate experience. Given the amount of skewed distribution already at the top, and the fact that people like me are encroaching on other people's territory so they've less to explore.

See, no negative words, no emotion, just description of what the game's like and you've got an anti @nextcolony add.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63780.55
ETH 2618.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82