Will you come and join me?

in #pinonwheaty6 years ago

Hello! The name is PinonWheaty. I hope your January month went well. Today is the first of February! It means, nine more months until Christmas! Yay! I'm not very good at introductions but here are some of a few things I like; food (who doesn't?), music, art, animals (my favorite), nature, science, culture, technology, business, psychology, philosophy, and of course, (Deep voice) video games! Those are just a few and if you're interested, I'll be sharing more.

I'm not going to be giving away any spoilers of where I live, but trust me when I saw it's here on Earth. So, what am I going to be writing about? Well I live in an area of that is constantly being misunderstood, I am talking about the environment, food, culture, and yes, people. Thanks to movies, books, and yeah, sometimes video games; my state has been misinterpreted. I want to show the true nature of my state. I also have other reasons but I don't want to spoil too much. ;) However, I have to start with mini-projects first because they are essential towards my main goal. It's going to be a long process but don't you worry! You don't have to do anything... Except-that-upvote-(cough) and-follow (cough). ;D

My first mini-project is making a Mask. The history of the Mask is often used for ceremonies, weddings, death, and/or among other reasons.

So what is your reason, Pinon?

Awww, thank you for asking.........Performance! Yes, I will be wearing my Mask for your entertainment.

Why? What for?

You'll see (hehehehe)

The first I've heard about a Masquerade Ball was in my sixth-grade classroom. My favorite teacher, whom I loved very much, let my class read, The Masque of the Red Death by Edgar Allen Poe. I got hooked right away, and in the book I discovered the Masquerade Ball. I've never heard such a thing and I felt like I've found a whole different world, and her name was Italy. Haven't been to Italy but seen Italy's Pavilion at Disney's Epcot. Of course, in the pavilion, they were selling different sort of Masquerade faces! The most expensive was five grand; An elephant's head! (O_O') I loved the idea! Me being an introvert, this was a great way to express my reserved energy to the world.

Time to make the Mask. I went on youtube and read articles and it was pretty straightforward. The first step was to use plaster strips and placed them on a face. A good friend volunteered. I covered her forehead and eyebrows with Saran wrap and covered her other half with Vaseline. It was messy! But we had fun; 25mins later, Voila! The mask was looking good. Creepy but good.

image1.jpeg

Then I said goodbye to my friend and looked at my mask. The next three step was the liquid plaster but I had to repatch my Mask because it had a couple of holes. Don't wanna let that leak! Since the Mask was still freshly wet. I had to let it sit and dry until the next day.

Once dried, I had to use glue to paint inside the mask. I used Elmer's glue and set that aside to dry. Another two hours later, I had to put a second layer, better safe than sorry. Then I realized, I forgot to get the plaster to mold it. Actually, this entire process I was forgetting so many little things.

That is all for now. My first step in my mini-project. I know my Instagram is a bit early but those are just previews. I will be continuing on to the next step with my next blog. I hope you enjoyed that, thank you for reading and have a great weekend!

Cheers,

PW

Sort:  

Congratulations @pinonwheaty! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @pinonwheaty! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @pinonwheaty! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57824.15
ETH 2965.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70