Pinball Lovers’ Relay Challenge! My first update to Pinside’s Map Part 1 of 3.

in #pinball6 years ago

I'm a new fan of Pinside.com and this is my profile picture:

Pinside.com is an awesome site because they have a world map for pinball machines. Their map shows me all the pinball machine locations in the world. https://pinside.com/pinball/search?q=United+States+

It's not always accurate, but such dynamics are to be expected with any specialized or potentially outdated form of entertainment. I hope to update lots of map locations.

Remember Foosball?! Good for you, STFU! Too late it's all gone! Too late!

Let's move on.

Location:

Southbay Pavilion, Los Angeles California

The last known update for this location was in 2011. They claimed there was a Shrek pinball game (2008 edition).

The location was marked as "South Bay Pavilion" and that is a little too general if your traveling. I used a few easy clues from the previous explorer to cross-reference possibilities on Google Maps. Pinside has their own map, but I get more of an exact location by searching for the location on my Google maps app.

After looking on Google Maps I realized the location from 2011 was probably referencing the Chucky cheese.


My Update To Pinside:


Below is a screenshot featuring my update to their website and map. The first update since 2011. The previous explorer claimed a Shreck pinball machine was available.

Don't let the name "Tetrahedroseph" throw you off. That's just the name I created for my musical persona. I wonder if I can change it?


Notes:

• Look for other Chuckie Cheese restaurants before ruling them out completely.

• Like the last part of my review says they had a really cool Terminator Salvation (FPS) console. Pictured here:


NEXT:

  • Task: See if I can change my name to steemseph on Pinside.com
  • Verify a new location.
  • Share my update here on Steem in part 2!

Below, I've shared a couple spacers/dividers I created for my pinball posts. I tried to use my Pinside profile picture. I'll probably try to use some game tokens as a content divider next. Most of those down there are not thin and long enough. How they will actually turn out after I post on WordPress is still a big question. It's a work in progress, so for now, I'll stick with my simple light blue ones.


Thanks for reading and thanks for supporting.

Remember to fight spam. Remember we are the curators of each other's investment in Steem. Remember to upvote your spam fighting neighbor's comments. Remember to encourage other to fight spam. Remember how shitty MySpace became after the spammers spammed it up. Remember the lack of compensation your experiencing as you share your life on other social media platforms. Shit happens, we move on.


I thought this post was over too, but it makes a lot of sense to occasionally advertise my music on BandCamp:

Sort:  

This post was chosen to be featured in this weeks SoCal Spotlight!! Thank you so much for being part of the #socalsteemit community.

socal nobear.jpg

Thanks for featuring my pinball post @socalsteemit! Look forward to part twooooo.

I'm a pinball enthusiast and would be very eager/happy/interested in relaying information on pinball machines I stumble across, whilst I am delivering Postmates or JobSpotting in SoCal. What do you recommend I do to get involved?

Hi @zingali I suggest looking on Pinside.com for a machine in your location. I signed up on Pinside and I try to leave detailed comments and info similar to the ones above.
Regarding the “relay”... I guess I used the term more to convey longevity instead of just a simple meme.
I’m tickled that your asking and I can say I also tried to imitate those photos challenges people seem to be sick of. I mention all this, because I’m open to suggestions on defining the “relay” aspect of my title. Maybe... try to double up on some locations, but it sounds like you can cover more ground.

We could coordinate our posts with each other... Sinergize?

Like: I post Part 2 of this series and include a section directing readers to your pinball posts (with link edited in asap).
Then you could include a section in your post telling people about my Part 3. (with link edited in asap)
Like a short mini citation trail?
Whatever happens... definitely give me shout out on the SoCal discord channel and I’ll resteem and upvote your post 100%. 👍

I thought about it more your comment. If you want to send me info to include in one of my pinball related posts, we can make those arrangements. Obviously I would mention that the contributions came from you. I would be giving you credit regardless of how we approached it. Google drive me stuff or post your updates with Zappl and allow me to screenshot/feature/mention it.
Rambling will become thinking... hmm

I'll send you info, as I find it out through the Discord #socalsteemit channel and will be active on Pinside. Pasadena has many pinball machines and I would love to get them all listed or at least make sure the info is accurate. Pinside accuracy starts with folks like you and me.

Zingali Hearts Pinball

I think we need an article series on here!

there really is an app for everything, huh? so cool!

Arcades remind me of being little as I was allowed to go in them with my Brother (3yrs older than me). The sounds and flashing lights made it feel exciting, well as a kid.

Thanks for the trip down memory lane :)

A lot has changed, but I feel nastagic in them too. I remember watching people play the games way after my money was gone. I hope you get a chance to go with your brother again.
Thanks for sharing your memories.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62647.29
ETH 2439.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66