Everyday Adventure photos in Thailand

in #pics4 years ago

These pics aren't so extraordinary I suppose, but it just goes to show that there is a little bit of magic just around the corner if you are willing to go and look for it.

I go out exploring on my bicycle from time to time in order to get some exercise and just see what is out there. Some days I find nothing of note, other days I find something amazing. Yesterday was one of those just above average days with a few gems.

84819608_3114017055276292_1167699653848727552_n.jpg

There is something beautiful and serene about rice paddies. It is so quiet out there and it looks quite lovely. As someone from a part of the world where as far as I know rice isn't even cultivated as a crop, seeing these fields stretch out in all directions was a pretty sight. I also got to see the farmers flooding their fields and the process, other than the pumps, likely hasn't changed for hundreds of years. The water isn't contained by any sort of technology, it is simply dirt walls on all sides with sections that can be dug out to flood the adjacent square. It looks like hard work, that is for sure.

83192367_215208282991447_7521245307397472256_n.jpg

Then, even though I was essentially in the middle of nowhere, there was this rather large cafe / restaurant in the middle of all the farms. I stopped in for a chill and the place was nearly empty. Perhaps they get busier at night. To be fair to them it was around 4pm, so it isn't exactly peak hours.

84776735_509663149691850_3896020862049976320_n.jpg

I enjoy a good water feature, and this one was built out of bamboo and added a sort of peaceful rain sound ambiance to the entire dining area. It also kind of made a mess of the floor. I don't know if you have ever tried to build anything out of bamboo, but it isn't the easiest material to deal with. I wonder how many of those bits they destroyed in their frustrating attempt to get the holes in just the right places.

My total journey was around 25 km and most of it was filled with the usual concrete buildings and occasional street dog chasing me down the neighborhood streets. In Thailand, just like most of the world, you gotta get out of town a bit before things start to have some sort of beauty to them.

I love these adventures and each day I take off without a destination in mind. Sometimes I find something great, other days I find nothing, some days i get lost. I'm always happy that I did it though.

Sort:  

Congratulations @jack.russelle! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 3000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 4000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - A better rich list comparator
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62831.42
ETH 3123.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85