Anyone grow their own?

in #pickles6 years ago (edited)

Haha! The title ought to get some attention right? Well, I was just catchin' up here on steemit today and ran across @brimax and his new vid and post on makin' homemade pickles! I'm pretty excited about this one as his recipe is different than mine. I think I'm gonna' go out into the garden and see if there's any cucumbers that I can pick to try this one out! If you haven't seen it or don't know of him.......... check him out....... nothin' but good stuff! The question though is do you dabble in or attempt gardening? I do. My kids love it too. It shows them where their food comes from, let's em' get dirty and affords us plenty of time outside together. Beyond that, we get to eat loads right out of the yard! So do you..........?

Sort:  

Oh @brimax is an awesome steemian! He always has some interesting project happening on his homestead.

Here, in regards to making pickles homemade... hubby's favorite is the bread and butter flavor whereas mine are regular dill or kosher dill.
I make his B&B pickles as needed throughout the season- a refrigerated recipe instead of canning a ton of them.Plus I made my own sweet relish

Haha! Yeah he's great! I'm gonna' have to go and dig through some of his older vids and look for what you mentioned. I may have already seen them but out a sight out a mind right? Thanks for the comment I enjoyed it very much!

I do refrigerator pickles now. I do not like putting the alum in my food and that is the magic "crisp" ingredient, and I don't like soggy pickles. Refrigerator recipes come in every flavor, dill, sweet, bread n butter, whatever you are hankering for!

Nice! Good to see you! Thanks for the reply. I'll have to check out these Ref. recipes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62914.22
ETH 3108.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88