The Comeback (CONTEST: A Picture is Worth a Thousand Words - 12/17/2021)

in #pic10003 years ago

image.png

He spent all day lazing in the backyard, staring at the sky, and soaking up the warm rays of the sun while purring demandingly for belly rubs. Its a huge change in character from the cat he was just over two years ago when we first met. Back then he was a skinny sickly looking little guy, with bald patches due to stress and an extreme fear aversion to any and all humans. It took a lot of patience on my part, and I had to endure a lot of cut, bruises and scratches, just for him to trust me enough to allow me to get close enough to pet him.

I had been considering getting a cat for a while and just couldn't settle on the breed. It was never my intention to adopt a cat from the animal shelter, especially one that was in such a bad way. One that needed more attention than a first time cat owner would be able to provide, but in that first moment that our eyes met and my heart broke for him. He needed a friend that would love and care for him, and I needed a friend to love and care for, and so it was settled, we were the perfect match.

The exact details of his past were never made available to me and I wouldn't really care to know them, all they would do is serve to make me angry and resentful and most probably vengeful. His history was a horrible one full of mistreatment and abuse, but to see him today you would never be able to tell. He strolls around with the confidence of a big cat and is as playful and carefree as toddler. It does my heart good to see him relaxing as he is now, knowing that his past is for the most part, truly and firmly in his rearview.

Sort:  

Reading this it must be so much easier to be a cat than a human. thank you for joining our contest and sharing your pic1000.

Thanks for running the picture prompts. Hope you have a wonderful christmas holidays😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60950.68
ETH 2607.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65