20 minutes x 20 days piano challenge: simplified notation

in #piano6 years ago

Hi Steemers,

A few days back I published details about a 20 sessions of 20' in 20 consecutive days of piano learning...

https://steemit.com/hacking/@creativesensei/20-minutes-x-20-days-piano-challenge-bach-prelude

And I included a video of the results:

Not too bad for 6+ hours of practice. However, I realised that the whole experience was facilitated by the simplified notation I spent a couple of hours developing.

I used an initial version of this notation in a diy single string guitar I made, in order to teach simple melodies to complete novices. Such a notation is based on 7 different colours and 5 distinct shapes that even 4 year olds can recognise (tested it... they don´t need to be able to name them in order to find the shapes and colours). And with that notation an adult can play a simple melody within five minutes with no prior knowledge of music (tested it).

With this visual cues I could skip learning to read music or memorising the whole piece by ear or video (I'm terrible with memory).

As you can see in the pictures, I translated the score into coloured/shaped notation and put handmade stickers on my keyboard.

It is totally arbitrary but it works for me.

Hope it is of use to somebody. Copy it and/or modify it, and share it. The more accessible we make music to everyone, the better for the world. I just want to reserve my right to create some commercial product based on this in the future without anyone suing me for it ;)

Now go make some music!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66408.70
ETH 3225.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17