Preparing for July recital | Piano and organ

in #piano5 years ago

My next public recital will be both piano and organ. The church has a wonderful Kawai grand piano and is supplemented by excellent acoustics. I found that during these lunchtime recitals, piano performances attracted more audience attendance. Perhaps this is because the piano is a very familiar instrument to the average person.

So I’m trying something new—incorporating piano and organ at this lunchtime recital on July 16. I hope that more people can get a ‘taste’ of organ music that day.

What do you think of my idea?

Here is my proposed programme:

Piano
Muzio Clementi
Sonatina in F Major, Op. 36, No. 4
I. Con spirito II. Andante con espressione III. Rondó: Allegro vivace

Frederic Chopin
Waltz in A-flat major Op. 69, No. 1
Nocturne in C-sharp minor Op. posth

Organ
Toccata (from 12 Pièces pour orgue) - Theodore Dubois
Attende Domine, Op. 8 - Jeanne Demessieux
Festival Toccata - Percy Fletcher

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

Nice idea. Perhaps even better to use the sandwich formula: start with a crowd pleaser on organ, than the piano music, than organ again. A great starter would be, I think, Prelude in classical style, by Gordon Young.

Thanks for the tip! However this becomes a logistical problem as the piano is downstairs and the organ is in the loft. So I’ll start with piano first and end with a bang on the organ 😄. Ahhh, the Gordon Young is indeed a crowd pleaser 😉

Posted using Partiko iOS

You’re so inspiring 🖤
Love that you share your passion on here. Music is such a beautiful art.
I was a violinist for many years in my younger years. ^^
Best of luck for your recital this summer 🤩 🎹

Thank you! I was a violinist too! I picked up the organ much later in life...it’s never too late really 😉 I’m in Australia, so it will actually be Winter ❄️

Posted using Partiko iOS

Awww! Wow that is amazing! Would have loved to hear you play the 🎻.
I will have to google what organ is 🙈
Oh wow! Out of curiosity, is an Australian winter any cold?

See my blog posts on my entries for the Secrets of Organ Playing Contest. I have been active since week 7. It’s usually a dry winter where I’m based. The snowfields aren’t too far away though.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! We have just given you a free upvote!

The more Partiko Points you have, the more likely you will get a free upvote from us! You can earn 30 Partiko Points for each post made using Partiko, and you can make 10 Points per comment.

One easy way to earn Partiko Point fast is to look at posts under the #introduceyourself tag and welcome new Steem users by commenting under their posts using Partiko!

If you have questions, don't feel hesitant to reach out to us by sending us a Partiko Message, or leaving a comment under our post!

Congratulations @contrabourdon! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 100 comments. Your next target is to reach 200 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Congratulations for publicly committing to play this recital. I'm sure your audience will appreciate both piano and organ sounds... Will you record the piano pieces for Steemit Open Mic Contest?

Good idea. I haven’t found any piano enthusiasts on Steemit yet.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Your post has been supported and upvoted from the Classical Music community on Steemit as it appears to be of interest to our community. We also support jazz and folk music posts!

If you enjoy our support of the #classical-music community, please consider a small upvote to help grow the support account!

You can find details about us below.


The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio or follow our curation trail (classical-radio) at SteemAuto!

Delegation links: 10SP, 25SP, 50SP, 75SP, 100SP, 150SP, 200SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63914.94
ETH 3312.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92