(Low-Carb.) Diet Induced Insulin Resistance - [A few Thoughts]

in #physiology7 years ago

This is a bit controversial and it's a topic that's often avoided in communities of people who follow low-carbohydrate and ketogenic diets.

There is this argument that subjecting oneself to carbohydrate restricted diets over the long term may induce insulin resistance via different mechanisms.

I would say it is not a far fetched argument in light of the evolutionary theory, where the body's tendency is to adapt to stimuli from within the environment. In this case, the stimuli or the lack of stimuli (dietary carbohydrates) could lead, for example, to a down-regulation of GLUT receptors, which are responsible to transporting glucose inside cells.

The rationale: to optimize for function and efficiency the body would not have such a high demand of GLUT receptors with carbohydrate restriction as it is in the case of a moderate or higher carbohydrate diet. Instead, it may promote the upregulation of factors that support fat metabolism.

Now, if this happens, is it a bad thing?

Please see the video below for the full scoop on this. As always, questions and comments are always appreciated (and rewarded by the steemit community)!



To stay in touch with me, follow @cristi


Cristi Vlad, Self-Experimenter and Author

Sort:  

i was on a ketogenic diet i enjoyed it and i lost a lot of fat and built a lot more muscle

Hi, I like your way of thinking about these things. I wonder how alternate/new diets should be evaluated in the long run. Some background.

A person starts a ketogenic diet, stops eating bread. This person also switches to sea salt cuz beautiful cristals :). This particular person doesn't like fish and who eats seaweeds amirite. This person develops goitre due to iodine deficiency. I don't want to discuss the likelyhood of a ketogenic diet leading to deficiencies but I wanted to sketch a plausible scenario.

My personal interest is more from trying to grow my own food in novel ways like aquaponics. If it ever becomes a major part of my diet I should probably take nutrition into account.

What's the best way to keep healthy when going on different diets, regular checkups at the doctor for a blood work?

great questions! I might address in a future video. I'd say that that some very important aspects of health maintenance are to make sure you're getting sufficient micronutrients. and a health tracker app should give you an insight on what you are eating, make sure you're getting adequate protein. and yes, regular checkups with as many biomarkers as possible could also be insightful!

Great video I appreciate the contente. I resteem it.

Good video, serious and without superflux. Youtube would need more people like you

I appreciate that! thank you!

Very interesting video man, glad to see some other sport/fitness bloggers on this platform. Keep it up

thank you! likewise!

GREAT work! . After taking a look at your page, I see a lot of great content. Following and upvoted.PLEASE DO SAME ,SO WE BUILD A GOOD RELATIONSHIP THANKS @abbeymelchizedek

"There is this argument that subjecting oneself to carbohydrate restricted diets over the long term may induce insulin resistance via different mechanisms."

Actually, as far as I understand, it is just opposite. Consuming too much carbs can get you into higher insulin resistance. At least this is my personal experience. Low carbs diet makes me feel better, healthier and less hungry.

The problem is, carbs are just about everywhere :-(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62102.06
ETH 2415.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49