Ketosis as a Metabolic State in Healthy People - [Peter Attia MD]

in #physiology7 years ago

The first time I heard of ketosis was back in 2013 when reading Tim Ferriss blog. At that time I was relatively fit, but I was kindof unsatisfied with my physique. I've been wanting to shed the remaining few pounds of fat that were covering my abdominal section.

I can't remember how exactly, but from Tim Ferriss, I stumbled upon Peter Attia's talk on Youtube, which was given at the IHMC or The Institute for Human and Machine Cognition in Florida. In short, I was fascinated by how smart this guy was, how much he knew about physiology, and more importantly, how willing he was in doing self-experiments.

In that talk, Peter Attia goes into excruciating detail about ketosis and his experiments with ketosis and athletic performance. He starts with his recent past as an unfit marathon swimmer and he continues on how he gradually reduced added sugar from his diet, until reaching the point of nutritional ketosis.

He then continues exploring the biochemistry of ketogenesis and he tells us about his experiments in the metabolic chamber.

What I found most interesting in this talk was when he talked about his long bike rides in Colorado and how, he was not affected by altitude while in ketosis, the same way he was when he was not in ketosis.

The talk ends with an informative Q&A session. I have to say that Peter was one of the 3 motivators to start my personal self-exploration of ketosis in late 2013, which ultimately resulted in writing my first book, Ketone Power. So, I may be biased, but, from the bottom of my heart, I recommend watching his talk.


To stay in touch with me, follow @cristi


Cristi Vlad Self-Experimenter and Author

Sort:  

@cristi,

Enjoyed your post.

Salutations. I am JaiChai. Delighted to make your acquaintance.

RE: Your Post

A long time ago (I'm talking over 40 years), on the high school wrestling team, I remember a lot of the higher weight class guys doing that zero carb diet to make weight.

They would test their urine with ketosticks.

Upvoted and following you now.

Man, they used to get PMS-like moodiness!

Lol!

Namaste,

JaiChai

Would you think they were getting the moodiness because of ketosis or because of caloric restriction?

@kristi,

Given that ketosis usually takes away hunger pangs? Not so sure...

Anyway, we're also talking about adolescents too.

Flip a coin, I guess?

Namaste,

JaiChai

I too was influenced by Tim and Peter. I love the health benefits I see from ketosis, but most of all, once I'm in that keto adapted mode, I simply love how I feel. No more bloat. No more issues with gas or reflux. Constant steady amount of energy throughout the day. If I have a busy day, and miss a meal, I don't feel like I'm going to die of starvation. I just recommend to folks who give it a try to stick to that feeling and remember that focus and mental clarity you get. Think about how you FEEL and which one you like better.

Most people who try ketosis and stick with it for a while almost invariably report the same cognitive benefits.

Ketosis is the best

Really motivative..thanks too

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63725.17
ETH 2619.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82