Sort:  

The bimodal motor approach is rather clever, I wonder how the effectiveness of the thrust generated when operating in full heat and burn mode will compare to the extra fuel needing to be carried due to lower effectiveness in 'burn' vs 'heat' mode, wear and tear on reactor, failure rates and weight differences in each implementation.

I'm leaning towards multiple reactors for redundancy. Would suck to have a failure halfway there.

Hell of a balancing act you got there! Hope you nail it! Don't typically get second chances between the stars. :)

Thanks for sharing.

Each thruster has its own reactor and there will probably be three main thrusters, so that is pretty good redundancy.

I.. am.. excite.

So when do we test this mean machine... Tell me you are close to a working prototype.

Also have some joy. <3

We are years away from a prototype for testing. There is a lot of work to be done.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by professorbromide from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Congratulations @professorbromide! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

That's really cool. Please share all the top secret details on Steemit. 😜

Well maybe you can't do that but I do look forward to other juicy bits of info.
Followed resteemed

Very appreciated contribution, indeed. I am a physics student and teacher, so I will enjoy your articles a lot. Among the pending readings I have a book about nuclear energy. It is about a type of nuclear plant that is not yet used. I'll lok for the name and post it here, just in case you want to comment.

Hello and welcome to steemit! I would be more than happy to read about what you do there. Please write more :)

I can't stop myself feeling like a little kid again every time I see the words "nuclear rocket". I am OK with this :)

Not only do I like this, it's really helpful. I was trying to get a hold of this obscure book on nuclear propolusion in space in order to get some specific estimations of project orion's stats - but the NYPL can't find its copy and i wasn't going to buy it. But now this fills in the gaps excellently. Not exactly a primary source, but it'll have to do.

Thanks for the link.

Sorry, I've just spent the last few minutes perusing this site - and it's even cooler than I originally thought.

I thought so, too. It blends science, history, and science fiction so seamlessly that I had a little bit of vertigo when I stumbled upon it at work one day. The author obviously put a lot of time into gathering all of that information. I think it is all part of a board game, but I didn't figure out if the game is finished and available on the market or not.

This is the greatest - I don't see any reference to a specufic board game - it seems like the author makes reference to this being intended as a resource for game and sci fi developers and authors. I am sort of instantly and completely in love with it.

This post has been resteemed by @nettybot courtesy of @sammosk from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Be sure to go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses, scroll to the bottom of the page, and vote for @netuoso.

This post has been resteemed by @msp-shanehug courtesy of @sammosk from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14