Calling All Physics Authors - New Physics Curation Trail Started

in #physics7 years ago

Hello to all writers on Physics!

After gaining some experience in curating the @math-trail, I shall now also be running the @physics-trail. Some of you will already know me, @rycharde, from the math-trail and my aim is to raise the profile of Physics article writers and bring a little organisation to the subject of Physics. My own background is in both Physics and Mathematics and the history and philosophy of both subjects.

Physics Tag

The first thing I notice is that there are a lot of physics articles that use a variety of tags. Steemit allows for up to five tags and each article appears in each of the chosen tag-streams.

However, chainBB has a forum structure and tags work slightly differently on there. The first tag you use is very important because it defines which forum your posts appear in. So, using #science first and #physics second means that your article will appear in the Science forum but not in the Physics one. If you have never looked at chainBB then go and look at the Physics forum to see what it looks like now. Compare that to the current Mathematics forum.

I personally like the forum structure as the most discussed articles stay near the top of each forum. It also means someone interested in Physics can see all available articles in one place - but only those with #physics as the first tag. Also, the tag order makes no difference to how your article appears on Steemit - it will, given the above example, show in both #science and #physics streams.

A Curated Physics Magazine

Every 3 or 4 days, I publish what I have called the Math-Trail Magazine (N.10 here); it is a curated list of some of the best writing from the most recent days. I would like to do the same for Physics; this is especially important given that Physics articles tend to be spread around. The second aim of the new Physics-Trail Magazine is to find new writing talent. If you were writing about Physics but gave up because of lack of readers, this is your opportunity to try some new content and get it promoted.

The third aim of the Magazine and the Physics-Trail itself is to create a sense of a Physics community. This means getting to know and following other authors, bouncing ideas around and answering questions. I hope that at some point we will see more students who actually ask questions, something like Stackexchange, but until then we can post educational articles that we think will be of interest. But Physics now plays a crucial role in many other sciences that the school demarcation of physics, chemistry and biology makes no sense in real science. I am therefore happy to promote articles on subjects such as biophysics and neurophysics and any other leading-edge science where physics plays a crucial role.

Follow @physics-trail

So, the very first things will be a lot of follows! Please follow @physics-trail to keep up to date with news and curated content and any new initiatives. Also, if you would like @physics-trail to follow you then just add a comment below and I will do so.

At the start, this @physics-trail account is quite small, so do not expect huge upvotes however, over time, my comments and resteems and curated posts will help all Physics content creators.

Look forward to reading all your articles.

Welcome!

Sort:  

Yes, it seems great !!! Great initiative!!!

Great initiative!

Thanks! I hope more physicists get to see this post.

very great initiative. Wish to be updated with your posts...

Thanks, following you too now!

Thanks for doing this for Physics/Mathematics authors!

You're welcome!

It takes a while for all people to see any new initiative, so all resteems are gratefully received! I shall post a few more introductory articles very soon.

Thats a great initiative...keep up the good work..

Congratulations @physics-trail! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received
You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Sounds awesome! Look forward to reading your articles

I'm really happy that a new course has been charted in the revolution of physics. We can champion this course together. I'm following you for more updates. The light that emits from my love for Tech has shone on physics too

Cool, following you too now!

Great initiative. You may follow my account(@dobalash) too. I am from physics background and Physics, Mathematics are my real interest but sometimes you may see some analysis regarding cryptocurrencies too. It is because, many people are here related to online business. But if I get enough upvotes in the topic of science I will not work on other subjects. I will try to post my understanding of different topic of physics which will be easier to understand by non-science people too. I am sure, you will enjoy my writing.

**Birds of same feather, flocks together!! :)

Great! I love physics/ math will keep an eye on both magazines!
Also didn't know the tags worked like this so thx for explaining this, you got my upvote!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57831.03
ETH 3136.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42