How I Got into Physics

in #physics6 years ago (edited)

When I was a kid, I wanted to serve the Church. My dream back then was to become the first Filipino pope, and be canonized as a saint. However, when I turned 9 years old, I watched the movie The Day After Tomorrow and I decided that I want to become either a climatologist -- a scientist that study long term atmospheric condition and patterns -- or a meteorologist -- a scientist that study daily atmospheric condition. The movie made realize three important things:

1.) Scientists are not the lab gowned, goggled, and chemical mixing people I used to imagine as a younger kid
2.) Scientists are just as human as everyone else
3.) Climate change is a very urgent issue.

The third realization, and my fascination for science that I developed because of the books my parents used to give me as Christmas gifts made me aspire to become a scientist!

Blog 3 - Books.jpg

Some of the books I used to read as a kid

However, I did not like physics back then. My grades in mathematics and physics were consistently bad as a high school student. So, I wanted to take either BS Biology or BS Chemistry in college. I wanted to study biology because I thought it would equip me with necessary knowledge about ecosystems, which are strongly affected by climate change; and chemistry because I thought that the chemical properties of the atmosphere are more important than the physical ones. My high school teacher advised otherwise. He told me that physics is better.

Naively, I took my teacher's advise and took physics in college. I browsed through university websites and searched about the majors their curricula had to offer. Later on, I decided that I would take BS Applied Physics because my main goal is not to become a physicist but to be an atmospheric scientist. I studied hard for the entrance test of University of the Philippines and I was admitted in the applied physics program of its Los Baños campus.

While in the university, I slowly changed after being introduced to more mathematics and physics. I gradually grasped mathematics and eventually developed interest in astrophysics. I also became a hardcore fan of Albert Einstein and Richard Feynman when I learned about their contributions in physics. As a matter of fact, I attended two talks on the centennial anniversary of the Theory of General Relativity.

MusicOfTheSpheres.jpg

Music of the Spheres talk by Dr. Ian Vega of University of the Philippines - Diliman

The university helped me see physics differently. I thought, as a high school student, that physics was just mere memorizing the formula and substituting the given values with a little algebraic manipulation on the equations. However, that was not really the case. Physics, and all sciences, is a careful method of studying the universe. It was not about what to think, it was about how to think; it was not about what was right, but how we know if something is wrong. Ultimately, these realizations made physics more interesting and studying physics liberating.

Right now, I plan to pursue a career in theoretical physics and focus on gravitational physics, nonconservative field theories, and mathematical physics. I also aspire to be a good science communicator like Carl Sagan and Neil deGrasse Tyson. However, I am currently still an undergraduate; so I'll keep it low and work hard!

In short: I got into physics because of my teacher's advise, and stayed because of my realizations as an undergraduate.

Sort:  

Good read. :) I love Physics as well. I wish i could say the same for Chemistry.

Chemistry loved me dearly though. So much that I had to take it a few more times back in college lol.

some of physics subjects loved me so dearly too! as for chem, I think we have a love-hate relationship haha

I zoomed the photo and found tita @erangvee and her wide grin. 😆😆😆

we are from the same bloc haha

Congratulations @laphysique! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 66369.39
ETH 3585.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59