You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What Makes a Rainbow?

in #physics7 years ago

Thanks @mystifact for this piece. Science more often than not finds it's clear expression in Mathematics. If my knowledge of science serves me right, I learnt several years ago that a rainbow is formed when the rays of the sun enter into a tiny droplet of rain at an angle of 45° . Not sure if that is absolute or flexible. But I guess the 3° difference doesn't matter much at the macroscopic level or does it? Anyways, thanks for sharing.

Sort:  

well, the light enters the raindrops at all angles and refracts at many angles, but the angle at which most of the light refracts is at 42 degree, meaning the intensity of that colour light is maximum at 42. I hope this helps!

I should get a refund from school and all the textbooks I read then! I have been grossly misinformed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57346.65
ETH 3107.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40