Being a Physician Assistant. What "time" affords me.

in #physicianassistant7 years ago (edited)

PA_logo.jpg

I am a Physician Assistant.


A profession that I have proudly been a part of for the past 13 years. Many many people have asked me when I'm going to go back to school to be a doctor. My "go to" response is a smile and one word.... Never. I am a Physician Assistant. I can diagnose, order tests, prescribe medications, and generate treatment plans just like a Doctor. I went to Medical School just like a Physician albeit for a shorter time. But I am a Physician Assistant, which in my opinion, is better than being a Doctor. To all of you wonderful Physicians out there I mean no disrespect. My profession would not exist without your knowledge and guidance. But let's face it, the medical field in general has grown sharply into an industry driven by the profit, the bottom line, the quota.

pexels-photo-236066.jpg

Physicians today are required to see a certain number of patients per day.


Most of the time these numbers are unattainable without double booking patients and spending merely seconds with each. Patients often leave their visit feeling short changed or ignored. While it is never the intention of the Physician to leave their patient feeling this way, it is often difficult to satisfy the patients desire to be heard and the Physicians employer driven requirement to see six or more patients an hour. Now this is why I like my job as a Physician Assistant better than that of a Physician.... my number of patients for the day, my quota, is less than my Physician colleague. The reason behind this is that my salary is less than that of a Physician. I can see fewer patients and still cover my cost to my employer. Yes you are reading this correctly.... I make less money as a Physician Assistant (let's be clear it's still a very good salary) but I am far more satisfied in my employment than I would be if I had to double the number of patients I booked in a day to meet an unrealistic expectation. The reason I chose Medicine as my profession was because I wanted to help people. Not to be rich. Don't get me wrong, I would be remiss to downplay the personal financial benefits of a Medical Degree. But money doesn't provide the satisfaction I get from treating a patient correctly and helping them to feel better.

Booking fewer patients a day affords me the time that each patient deserves for their issue. Their time with me is over when we have generated a plan for their health based on their description of what is going on and my medical knowledge of why it is happening. It isn't over when the ten minute timer goes off. The most valuable lesson I have learned in my 13 years as a Physician Assistant is that people know what is wrong with them. They just don't have the medical background to understand why or how to correct it. As a practitioner, I just have to listen. I listen and they tell me what is wrong. I listen. But this takes time. Not 10 minutes. Real time that I invest in their lives. Real time that I sit across from them and listen like an equal, like a friend.

I develop a relationship with my patients...


... A relationship that is cultivated over time. The time that is afforded to me because I am a Physician Assistant. So the next time you call your Physician's office to book an appointment and the receptionist offers you an appointment with the Physician Assistant because the Doctor is booked, ask yourself what you can afford?


Follow me @wickedcute

Sort:  

Congratulations @wickedcute
You took 77 place in my Top 100 of posts

Thank you for sharing! That's really cool. My second post ever. :)

Excellent! There is no better reward than being able to give back the quality of life to a person or even an entire family. I congratulate you on being one of the few who are in medicine for true vocation and not for money. Keep going and many successes!

Thank you!! I truly love this profession. Promoting health and being able to restore it for people is so rewarding.

Totally agree with you, I believe that anyone who is health personnel, no matter the scope, if you do it by vocation, falls in love with what many consider little!

Very insightful comment!! Thank you

Thank you for spending time with your patients and really making an effort to get to know them. I get so frustrated and upset with doctors who don't listen to my concerns and brush me off because they are in a hurry. The medical profession can use more people like you.

Really interesting post @wickedcute thanks for sharing! Honestly, prior to this article I didn't fully realize the dynamic between a Physician and Physicians Assistant... I feel like today, we definitely need stronger 1:1 communication between patients and PA's. There's so much mis-information out there in medicine / prescriptions etc that not having that relationship is potentially damaging. Having a distanced relationship with a Physician doesn't help that. Taking the time to listen and establish trust is so valuable!

Thank you @voronoi. Many people do not understand the different options that are available to them for their medical care. It is very important for Physicians and Physician Assistants to work symbiotically to treat the patient. Both have valuable skills to offer. Earning the trust of a patient is a crucial step in restoring health.

I am really impressed by this post. But being a physician and physician assistant is totally different. You can't jus say they are the SAME. No disrespect to your profession either, we are totally dependent on your work as well. So what you can use the knowledge to merely treat patients. The Physicians have to grind themselves for knowing the unknown...and you can't jus make the line disappear between the two...No disrespect jus Conflict of Interest.

You are absolutely correct @mirhimayun. Physicians and Physician Assistants ARE different. That was the main point of this post. I have the utmost respect for Physicians. They are expected to use their vast knowledge to heal people and do it just by examining a patient in thirty seconds. Our healthcare system in many ways is abusive to the Physicians and consequently burnout is frequent. What I am hoping to educate people on is the fact that a Physician Assistant is a DIFFERENT option on the healthcare team. Thank you so much for your comment. I truly appreciate it.

You must enjoy what you do. There is nothing like getting satisfied with what one does. Connecting with your patients is a great gift.
Thanks for sharing this @wickedcute.
This post is valuable .. and please do stay in touch.
Upvoted and followed!

Thank you @mcekworo! The greatest satisfaction I have in my profession is to have my patient leave their visit with hope. Hope that they have found someone that will help them. Medicine does not always afford us pleasing answers. There are times that "bad news" is inevitable. Showing a patient that you care and will do everything you can to help them restore health is very comforting. And it all starts by listening....

.. Wonderful job you're doing.
Please do stay in touch.

A great salute to u @wickedcute. I indeed feels annoying whenever a doctor ends up a session pretty fast. I feels great that u spends more time with patients. An ideal physician indeed. Good to see u.

Thank you @sreevin. It is very frustrating for a patient to seek the help of a Physician and barely get a moment of their time. Every time a patient schedules an appointment it is a big deal. Even if to no one else but themselves. Each patient deserves the respect of being listened to. It is just so unfortunate that our society does not afford a Physician this vital time with each patient.

Love the self confidence

STEEM On !!

Dave

Hi, I'm new to steemit and would like to help you help the community in the healthcare field.
Pleasure meeting you!
Drugmaned 😀

Thank you @drugmaned! Be sure to follow me @wickedcute. Looking forward to future discussions

Will do! You too...you can be my first! 😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58430.35
ETH 2623.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42