PHOTOTALENT PHOTOGRAPHIC CHALLENGE - Monday MACROPHOTOGRAPHY

in #phototalent6 years ago

Here's my entry into the PHOTOTALENT PHOTOGRAPHIC CHALLENGE #phototalent hosted by By @mrstrange and @oscarps for Monday MACROPHOTOGRAPHY.

IMG_1919a.jpg

I snapped this little green tree frog in my garden, he was sitting on a Cordyline (plant) leaf in the afternoon sun. I found him while out watering the garden. I love green tree frogs, we rarely see them around anymore, toads seem to be overtaking them : (
Photo taken with a Canon 400D.

If you'd like to enter here's the link.
https://steemit.com/phototalent/@mrstrange/anuncio-de-ganadores-de-la-semana-20-tema-para-la-semana-21

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-18T22:25:06
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 1058.22/1600.00
Total Photos: 146
Total comments: 18
Total contest wins: 4
And have also received a 1.60 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Another great macro Kristy

Thanks Sara : ) How have you been?

Hi Kristy, I am doing great. It is summer here in Arizona so it is getting hot and since I work at the university it is quiet with the students on break. Getting lots of things done and ready for the new school year. How about you. It is winter now?

OH I can't wait for warmer months again!! How long do the students have off through summer? Do they get much time off over the Christmas break? Quiet time is always nice even if you're at work! : )
New school year? You guys start a new school year in the middle of the year?

Yes we are smack bang in the middle of winter. We've just had a very cold low cross the southern states and we are all suffering for it, lol. Weather reports are saying it should start getting better by the end of the week and we should be pretty good for at least a week after that, so here's hoping.

I really dislike the cold which is funny, in the summer months we usually spend all our time in the coastal areas but in winter we go inland to all the colder areas. Sounds crazy but it is always the prettiest in the cooler months. Not in the dead of winter but we usually go bush walking and on rainforest walks in the cooler months too! :D Not going at the moment though... BRRRR :/

The students start a new academic year in the middle of August (this is when freshman start for the very first time) and go till the beginning of December. Then the students go from January to May. Very few go in the summer which is May to August.
Is it cold and snow or mostly just cold?

So on average 9 months of the year? Do they get small breaks in that time?

SO different to our calendar year... we have 4 terms which usually run for 10 weeks, this year we have an 11 week term (we hate those, lol).

Term 1. 22 January - 29 March
2 week break
Term 2. 17 April - 29 June
2 week break
Term 3. 16 July - 21 September
2 week break
Term 4. 8 October - 14 December
6.5 week break

We don't get snow where we are, we get the cold changes though!! We have to go higher onto the tablelands to find the snow, higher altitude. The posts I made over the last couple of days about the snow are about a 5 hour drive from here. It's worth it though, the kids love it! They only get good snow fall there every so often, they get a light dusting every year but it's not worth going to see. Further down south (about a 12 hour drive away) they get good falls there. Over the last few days they've had 70-80cms which will keep the ski bunnies happy! : )

They have two semesters that are 15 weeks each with a month long break in December. There are a few other breaks here in there during the 15 weeks.

That is cool that you can drive up to the snow. I seriously love snow and I am in the driest and hottest place in the United States. I have a great job and friends and home here, so I'll stay for awhile, and visit the snow. :)

15 WEEKS!!! (GASP!!) Oh wow... that's a long time! And we're complaining about 11 week semesters!! 30 weeks sounds good though compared to 40 or 41.

My husband and I went and checked out Utah last night, I was talking to him about the difference from here to there. He is in education too. We were trying to find what your average temps were for summer, from what we found it was between 30-36 degrees Celsius, you work on Fahrenheit don't you? So 86 - 96/97, does that sound about right? With 50-60% humidity?

There are so many HUGE mountains around Utah... SO many!! We are so flat compared to you guys.

Visiting the snow is a good idea... I could never live near the snow, it is WAY too cold for me. I really dislike the cold, it is so much easier to cool down than warm up. Our next house HAS to have a fireplace!! I'm getting too old for these cold winters now, lol. : )

I live in Arizona and love and visit Utah. So those sound right for Utah. The summer is much hotter in Arizona. Yes, the mountains are so big. They are called the Rocky Mountains and have beautiful snow on the tops all year round. I actually just booked another flight to Utah for August for my nephew's wedding. Some day I would love to live there. I don't want to leave a great job right now.

That is cool that your husband is in education too. What do you both do?

Oh... so I got it wrong... we'll have to check Arizona out tonight : )
Oh yes, I see about a 10 hour drive away. Is it your brother at Utah? No, good jobs are hard to find and ever harder if you like them, definitely worth holding onto! : )

My husband use to be a secondary school teacher but he is now working as a network administrator still in the education system.

And me... I'm just a wife and Mum : )
I have 3 kids - 10, 17 and 20. My eldest is no longer at home but my younger two have autism and are both on the low functioning side of the spectrum. My daughter is in grade 5 this year (we have Prep to grade 6 in primary school and grades 7 to 12 for secondary high school) but I don't think I'm going to send her to high school, the schooling system has pulled a lot of support out for these kids and I don't think she will go well with how the system is now. Unless anything changes I'm planning to home school her through a distance education program. My son is in grade 12 year this year, only 4 and a half months left of school!! I don't know what's going to happen with him once he leaves school, it's going to be an interesting time. So my "mum duties" can be pretty high. : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67597.54
ETH 3772.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55