🌸🍀🌷 Pausing for beauty in your own backyard.... A CALMING MOMENT

in #photos7 years ago (edited)

Hey my ✨BEAUTIFUL PEEPS✨,

I thought I'd start with a gigantic picture of a pink hydrangea right smack in ya face 😄 ! Isn't it lovely? It's from my front yard. I haven't been on here lately as the wheels of life sped up a bit and I had to take a break. Things got a little hectic in my personal life and I literally had to "steal" moments of relaxation such as today. I went to the mailbox and upon my return, I gazed upon these lovely hydrangeas! I haven't even realized how they've still been in full bloom. Shame on me right!?!

I ended up sitting on my cement bench that surrounds the planter area and I just had to take a deep breath and do some reflection. I also thought of you all. It's Monday and typically one of the most stressful days of the week for most people and as I sat there I said to myself, "Self, take a shot of these lovelies and share em' why don't cha." So I did.

I also realized that I don't really know much about hydrangeas. How can these be in my yard and I really don't know shit about them? So I quickly looked them up.

Pictured Above: My hydrangea bush (left) | Hydrangea Vase + Some awesome reads!

So here's what I learned:

  • Records show they were originally cultivated in Japan.
  • There are hydrangea fossils dating back to as long as 45 to 65 million years ago.
  • But these fossil records were found in North America so it makes you go Hmm... 🤔
  • Turns out you can't eat these bad boys (and who would want too anyway) because they contain cyanide.
  • There is another varietal known as hydrangea serrata which is used for consumption in a detox tea that Buddhists drink.
  • More on the tea: It can be used to treat kidney stones, enlarged prostates, malaria and some autoimmune diseases. (WOW! 😲)
  • It's said that some Native Americans use the root as a diuretic and for muscle pain relief.

Pretty cool. Who knew these beauties that grace so many gardens around the world have healing properties. Good to know right? Just be sure you have the right varietal or else you could 😵....LOL.

Well I hope you took a moment to pause, exhale, learn a little, and enjoy in its splendor like I did today. 🌷🍀🌸


📍 So please remember let's all HELP n' SUPPORT each other by doing any of the following:
🔹Resteeming
🔹Voting
🔹Commenting
🔹Following if ya wanna see more of my content 😝

Gratefully Yours,

#Onntastic

Welcoming all Spiritual Vibes. 😉 💜

🔌 CONNECT WITH ME:
Twitter: @OnnMoore (https://twitter.com/onnmoore)
LinkedIn: (https://www.linkedin.com/in/onnmoore)

Sort:  

So important to see the beauty in the flowers. I love Bella N Jazz pic -so cute!

Beautiful flowers

Gracias 🤗

Wonderful photographs! Thanks for sharing.

Thank U 😊

Congratulations @onntastic! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63252.23
ETH 3035.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73