2 Years of Free Form Dreadlocks. The Evolution in Photos.

in #photos7 years ago (edited)

I just got done dying my dreadlocks and decided it would be fun to blog about my experience.

I let my hair naturally form into dreads by simply stopping brushing it. I also did have to separate the bits that started to knock to avoid that homeless person uno-dread that we've all seen. Aside from that I just stopped using conditioner and switched to a soap with no residue. I did not use bees wax as that can never get out of your hair and causes dirt and dander to stick to it inside the dreadlock.

I do wash my hair however, regularly. It is squeaky clean.

Just wanted to clear up that common misconception that dreadlocks are dirty. They can be dirty if the person is dirty but anyone can be dirty, not just people with knotted hair.

So, I have collected some photos sharing the evolution of my dreads.

And here are pictures I took today after dying my hair. :)

I am pretty lazy when it comes to trying to maintain them. I am not really sure what to even do with all those loose hair so I just let em be. I had a friend argue with me when I said I was going to stop brushing to get dreadlocks again. He was telling me it was IMPOSSIBLE to get dreadlocks that way when I had already done it in the past. XD

Feel free to ask any questions you might have about them.

Oh, since I am talking about dreadlocks. I will say I never heard that I was a culturally appropriating racist for having them until semi recently. I personally disagree with this and, if anything, it has strengthened my desire to practice my free will by keeping them on my head. :)

Sort:  

Looks very cool!

Thank you! :D

Good story. Thanks for sharing. Personally, I can't understand not brushing long hair. I have grown my hair down past my shoulders before and after a certain length it was just maddening to not have it brushed.

Well, I can't understand brushing your hair! hehe :) I understand brushing it actually but I prefer mine unbrushed. :)

Brushes are the tools of Babylon.

Oh my gosh, you have so many pretty colors in your hair, I love it :D

Thank you. :D I spent two days dying it and still have to fix some parts. So hard dealing with the back of my head now that I have dreads. XD

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 56386.16
ETH 2529.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49