Ronnie, the Inloophuis cat... in HDR

in #photos8 years ago (edited)

I


am just playing a bit with HDR capture and processing on my Xperia M2 Aqua... Well, it's not that great a camera, overall, I have definitely had better, but I am seeing if I can do something interesting with it. This came out quite well considering no tripod.

The app I used is this one: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=ht.cameraapps.LayoutActivity

It doesn't expose a lot of details about the renormalising that is done with the two brackets it takes, I think it takes two, but oddly enough for this photo, the best was 'cartoonish'. It isn't that great though, because it should have caught more detail from the sky and not been whited out, but it did make the dark areas a lot brighter. I did some HDR experiments some years back and used a Canon EOS of my mother's, with a tripod, and the results were pretty sweet...

I would love to have a camera that can make pictures like this easily. There is multi-sensor cameras being developed that can make this kind of image without the long capture time. If there is movement between the brackets it doesn't look right.

I am going to try out some other ones... it really should have a proper 3 bracket exposure to get a proper image, and it should allow me, with the gentler effect, to simply eliminate the fight between the sky being white and the earth being black, especially on overcast days (almost can just say 'Amsterdam sky')...

About the cat

This cat's name is Ronnie, and he has a brother who hangs out downstairs at Prinsenhof who is all black. Ronnie wasn't originally 'allowed' to come upstairs, but it seems that he was persistent in tailgating people through doors to get up here (he has to sneak through two doors to get to the stairs up to here) that they have given up on trying to stop him.

Today he hasn't been as smoochy as he normally is, he seems to be in a bit of a bad mood. But he was so good and still for me to take this photo. If you know cats, you can probably see that he is in a somber mood...

And I think I have got the trick for making drop caps that don't make the first letter disappear from the preview, and looks right at the same time!

<div class="pull-left"><h1>I</h1></div>
<br />am just playing a bit with HDR capture and processing on my Xperia M2 Aqua... 

The trick is to put a br tag directly in front of the second letter of the first paragraph, and then the h1 tag big sized first letter floats closer to the top line of the first paragraph.

With the image floating to the right, also, I added a br tag above the image within the div so it lines up also.


We can't stop here! This is Whale country!

Loki was born in Australia, now is wandering Amsterdam again after 9 months in Sofia, Bulgaria. IT generalist, physics theorist, futurist and cyber-agorist. Loki's life mission is to establish a secure, distributed layer atop the internet, and enable space migration, preferably while living in a beautiful mountain house somewhere with a good woman, and lots of farm animals and gardens, where he can also go hunting and camping.

I'm a thoughtocaster, a conundrummer in a band called Life Puzzler. I've flipped more lids than a monkey in a soup kitchen, of the mind. - Xavier, Renegade Angel

*

All images in the above post are either original from me, or taken from Google Image Search, filtered for the right of reuse and modification, and either hotlinked directly, or altered by me

Sort:  

I saw that video... pretty funny... kitties can cause such mayhem when they play...

Ronnie looks somber/worried, still willing to pose for you.
Miss our cat when I see this. Beautifull photo.

I miss having a cat too, I had this little fluffy medium long hair black female, she was such a smooch-fiend... My mother took care of her, got her teeth fixed up and she became so happy and smoochy that mum had to find another home for her because she interfered and added her fluff too often to her textile arts work...

And cats love to scratch them nails, and most of the time at spots you do no want them to use their nails; "Scratchpole? Yeah right, I have no master!"
Love cats, they are an inspiration, those little hairy anti-authoritarians. :-)

Upvoted and followed!

Hey - I saw all your mentions of bitmessage - so I dusted off a copy. Here's mine on my PC -BM-2cXtQoDKKyH4FnTPygTEJfkgKdLzMv8fNR
(the android version has yet to work)

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Nov 17. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $11.01 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 17 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60111.17
ETH 2322.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53