Double Digits

in #photos7 years ago (edited)

Today is my grandson Kaleb’s tenth birthday... a day that he’s been looking forward to with great anticipation for months on end.The excitement of reaching double digits elevates this particular birthday into one of monumental status. I recently “celebrated” my sixty-ninth, albeit with considerably less fanfare since I now appreciate life as more of a day by day experience.
My grandfather passed away on my 10th, so my party was bittersweet.
As I sit here and reflect on memories of those days and the years to follow, I’m truly amazed by the many drastic changes that have come about in the way we live and how we go about our daily lives,

                      The year was 1959.

Automobiles had big fins and lots of chrome...the ‘59 Caddy is regarded as a vanguard of style and beauty to this day. My dad owned a 1956 Mercury Monterey, a sporty two door sedan with whitewall tires. I can still remember my first ride in it...the roar of the dual tailpipes, exclaiming the V-8 power under the hood... wind blowing through my hair. My dad took us to the open road where we reached a mind blowing speed of 100 mph.20180320_145734.jpg

Seatbelts? We didn’t have no stinking seatbelts...no car seats either.
In the days to come, Dad would let me push on the gas pedal as he was driving but the best was when he let me sit on his lap and hold the steering wheel. I loved riding with him.

One of our main equipment options was an an AM radio. We hadn’t yet dreamed of eight track players,cassettes,CDs or MP3’s,.. let alone the multi-funtional touch screen navigation surround sound back-up camera AM-FM bluetooth connected “radios” that we now enjoy.

Yukon 2-1437 was our phone number. It had no connection to any other device.
Our family had big black, heavy dial-up telephone. We were on what was known as a “party line”. When you picked up the “receiver” to place a call you would either hear a dial tone or possibly a neighbors conversation. Private lines were considered a luxury. If you needed to call long distance, you would dial “0” and the operator would make your connection. If you waited until after 6 PM the charges were reduced.
Simply put...simplicity was the order of the day. We had no area codes,zip codes,or universal product codes. The headset was connected by a cord. Wireless? Check back in 30 years or so. Video or chat? You must be dreaming.
Our phone had no gaming capability.It contained no apps. It was not 4G connected since the internet was 40 years in the future, but above all...Kids did not have their own phones

If we wanted to play a game we played “crazy eights” or maybe “hide and seek”. My brother and I spent many afternoons making roads in the dirt for driving our toy cars, Mudball wars were always fun and when we were done, we would run naked through the backyard sprinkler.
What a waste of energy...
I imagine that our daily activities could now be presented as a video game that could be enjoyed by the user without having to leave the comfort of their recliner chair.

                    JFK WAS SOON TO BECOME OUR PRESIDENT

I had a small record player for listening to my 45 rpm recordings of Elvis Presley and Jerry Lee Lewis. The Beatles wouldn’t grace our shores for five more years.
Today we have Donald Trump.
The day following his election, Kaleb was in tears, worrying that some of his friends would face deportation. I never had to worry over such a depressing possibility when I was 10.

I pray every day for strength, guidance, and love for my Grandchildren. I wish we would have done a better job of providing an encouraging future for them.

My birthday wish for Kaleb is that he will someday reflect on these times with happy thoughts and that he will always carry my love within in his heart. As I sit here today, I cannot begin to express the depth of my love for him. His legacy is just beginning,
The rest of my life is icing on the cake.
I can only imagine how his life will blossom and what memories he will pass on to his grandchildren. I feel certain that whatever path he takes wili be a good one.

God Bless You, and Happy Birthday Mister K

Sort:  

Hands down, my favorite one. Well done, sir.

Thanks . I appreciate your response more than you know!

First of all, happy birthday to your grandson. The tenth year marks the beginning of life long memories. You know, technology has done some fantastic things for all of us but I, too, am under the impression that our childhoods have paid a high price in exchange. As a kid, we all played outside for as long as our parents would let us. We came home with grass stained pants, fresh scrapes and stories of our recent adventures. This picture is now all but vanished. I never see kids playing in the streets of their neighborhoods anymore and often wonder what their childhood memories will sound like 50 years from now.…

Secondly, I didn’t know that they had party lines where you and your neighbors were on the same connection. That’s pretty neat. A party line for me was when you called a friend, put them on hold to call another friend and connected the line so all three of you could talk. Haha… technology, I suppose. I really enjoyed reading this post of yours @carklevicci. I presume that one day your grand son will be having similar discussions about the generations to come after him. (I wonder what that conversation will sound like). Blessings & Peace ✌️

You're one smart cookie. I know that you will be an even more beautiful lady when you reach my age and your memories, like my grandson's , will hold pictures and tales for children who may not have even been born yet. But yeah, the party line....no telling what you might hear. Most people were pretty respectful and would hang up if someone else was on the line, but I gotta confess...every now and then I heard some crazy things goin' on , and maybe I heard more than I should have.

I might be tempted to listen a little longer myself. 🤷🏼‍♀️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62070.52
ETH 2422.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64