Photo Hunt Contest #15 - Statues

in #photoquesthunt6 years ago

Been a long time since I entered this competition. Although most of my photos are of wildlife or nature, the last visits to Asia provided a great number of cool statue photos. So here goes my first entry for this contest: this photo was taken in Bali, in Uluwatu temple.

hannuman1.jpg

If I'm not mistaken, it's a statue of Kumbakarna, being attacked by Hanuman and the monkeys. Don't know the story of the battle well enough to describe it... but for me it is one of the coolest statues I've found in the country!

Sort:  

Nice work. Bali must have been awesome! I must go there one day 😉

It was! Food, people, nature, everything! And if you do scuba-diving... Bali went straight to the podium in best place I've ever dived!

Very cool, @pardinus!

@putu300: check this out. You posted a couple of shots of this statue, a while back, if I remember well! Right?

Thanks! I've seen a ton of pretty cool smaller statues throughout the island, but this one is in my top three for sure!

Hahahaha, very interesting! @trincowski. You have a good memory, but it is not the same statue. It looks similar, and the character depicted is Kumbakarna. Hi @pardinus please have a look here https://steemit.com/art/@putu300/the-fight-between-kumbakarna--a-2018-8-3-21-8-26

Ah, so it was the same character! :-)

So it really is Kumbakarna! :) Thanks!

Looks like a parent at a kids party after they've just had a bunch of sugar

Ahahahah best comment ever! And probably... not too far from the truth! ;)

That is one scary looking face!

He sure looks angry :)

I would be too :p

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62916.93
ETH 3028.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67