Night photography made simple!

in #photomatic6 years ago

I don't know why I love taking photos at night. Maybe it's the quiet of the night, or the peacefulness and solitude of no one else around. I listen to the quite and the sounds of the world around me.

Eretria by sea.jpg

Sometimes I can hear voices way out in the distance and it seems a little romantic. I take my time at night. I feel the warm wind against my skin and take in each moment. In today's high digital world it seems like another world in the nights silence.

No matter why I love taking photos at night, it is always a productive trip. I always get powerful images at night. The street lights and the stars in the sky always make the image POP. Th more the better the composition. And if you have water or a nice background your set for wonderful images.

But we should not forget the basics of photography and our two biggest helpers.

#Light & contrast.

Eretria3 final.jpg

Yes, light and contrast! If you can master these two little buggers you will be able to take great images any time of the day and any where. You will be able to capture images that takes others hours to do with photoshop.

But how you ask?

Well, you must be using your manual mode of course. You should have a camera stand. And lastly, you have to shoot for the dark's while not blowing you lights. You do this by adjusting your shutter speed and/or your aperture until you get the dark's and lights right. This may seem difficult at first but it is a quick learning curve, trust me.

new.jpg

There is no secret's about it. Just trial and error. Maybe you will be taking 40 images to get 2 or 3 great captures but it will be worth your time. And with every image you will be teaching yourselves a valuable tool for your photography career.

After a few nights out you will be guessing close to the shutter speed and aperture that you need, and you will be taking fantastic photos at night like a pro all by yourself in no time. I hope this helps other photographers out there. Let me know if you have any questions!

I hope you enjoyed this post. Thanks for reading my post and please consider #upvoting this post, #following me, and leaving a #comment. If you would like to help me even more please consider #re–steeming me so I am able to reach your audience as well. I look forward to posting daily content with all of you.

I will give five chances to win this https://steemit.com/art/@zeitlini/win-usd220-mexican-riviera-painting-5-winners

Signed by me Angeliki Z to the steemit community.

Why give away my paintings? To give back to the steemit community that supports my posts. Just #upvote my post and leave a #comment on this post so I can let you know that you have won. That simple.

Sort:  

love the advice keep up the great posts!

You got a 9.81% upvote from @emperorofnaps courtesy of @zeitlini!

Want to promote your posts too? Send 0.05+ SBD or STEEM to @emperorofnaps to receive a share of a full upvote every 2.4 hours...Then go relax and take a nap!

Howdy partner, I'm @photocurator, a curation bot; I keep an eye on the photo feeds, I vote random photos of my followers and at the end of the day I publish a post with links to the best photos. Follow @photocurator to get your photos curated in the future!

Excellent information! Taking photos at night is challenging and you note about many photos producing a keeper or two.
Thank you!

Thank you mhm-philippines. Yes I think people should know that it's not a quick snapshot. nice images take time and effort as you know. Thanks again.

This is great encouragement for those who make a few none keepers. It happens even to the best!

Amazing colors! :-)

Thank you neony. Do you take photos as well?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66149.79
ETH 3275.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71