Photomag competition - Tutorial TuesdaysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photomag6 years ago

AST_3.jpg

Low Key Studio Lighting Setup And A Halloween Gif in 13 Frames

Low key refers to a setup of two light sources, positioned at about 45 degree angles (those may vary so much...) to the back and to both sides of your model or object. Also, slightly lower than what you're shooting.

The point is to illuminate the sides and leave the front underexposed so that you get only contours. The background should also fade to darkness.

Sounds simple enough but when you try it you may get discouraged by your results.

'It doesn't work!' Meaning your background and front are not dark enough.

AST_1.jpg

Well, good results in my experience were planned to come with some post editing. First of all low key photography is mostly intended to be viewed in B&W.

AST_2.jpg

Then you just have to bring up the blacks and maybe slightly the whites of your image in your editor. But mostly the blacks. Don't be afraid to go drastic. Histograms are not important, go darker than usual and only depend on your eyes and aesthetic sense.

For the gif below I saved a few different versions, as many as 13 (counting the colorful and the overexposed looking images which I did not use later) going slightly darker every time.

I used Photoshop CS6, opening the Window>Timeline function and adding each image to a single line. After I got to the darkest one, I arraneg the others once more after it, but symmetrically, and without adding the first one again. Like this:

1, 2, 3... 11, 12, 13, 12, 11... 3, 2

I set each frame's time value to No Delay (to slow down you could use 0.1 seconds). Then - Repeat Forever. And finally - Save for the Web as a gif file.

Untitled-4.gif

Enjoy!

P.S. If you leave any questions in the comments I could answer them as soon as I am back online. Which will be less often in the few days to follow but after that... Well, I'll be back.

Sort:  

logoAsset 5@2x copy.png

This post has been upvoted by @photomag and it's manual curation trail. To get involved in the future of @photomag please check the @photomag blog. Vote for @markangeltrueman witness here



Photomag is a new proposition by @markangeltrueman on the STEEM blockchain that aims to create a STEEM backed photo magazine website

Thank you very much for everything you are doing for the community! I think I did vote, will check when I get back from a trip with limited online access. I am still trying to make an entry every day this week.

Thanks, vote and spread the word as much as you can. We cant have you winning every day can we :D

Nope, we can't. I'm working on it. I mean I will soon make steemit invitations to tens or hundreds of friends, I just need to learn a little more before that. There are only a handful of active Bulgarians on the network right now. I got interested thanks to a lecture of a friend a few weeks ago.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62104.41
ETH 2404.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49