Money Changing Hands

in #photomag6 years ago

Last Weekend, on Sunday, we went to Hong Kong for a little break. It was Xiaoyi's idea to treat me for my birthday. We stayed right across from the Langham Place Shopping Centre in Mong Kok, Kowloon.

We arrived at about lunch time and enjoyed a 3-hour long lunch with friends from Hong Kong, after which they took us on a walk through the streets. I was not really prepared for the number of people on the streets on a weekend as all my previous visits were during weekdays.

Mong Kok is well known for their street markets, and people come actually here from all over Hong Kong to buy their fresh fruit and vegetables (and many other things, including clothes).

I realised that it will be very difficult to get any good street photos is such a crowded space, but it was, in any case, a good outing with friends.

Not too far into the first alleyway, I saw this orange seller. He had a black t-shirt on and white latex gloves. For me, he looked like a magician busy performing his magic to the crowd. I went in close, took a photo and directly moved on (he had quite a big stature!). The stall right next to him was also selling oranges. But the man saw what I was doing and when I approach him, he pulled a towel in front of his face.

This was it, it completed the magic show in my head!

Let the magic Begins
Abracadabra
_JOH1169_300.jpg
_JOH1178_300.jpg

I knew that the rest of the day I will only take closeup photos of hands - I created my own small street photography challenge. It is interesting to see how hands can tell their own story. The hand gestures of the buyer and the seller plays a role in the final price. In many cases, I noticed that neither the buyer nor the seller actually speaks a word, the whole transaction is done based on their hand gestures.

Some of the hand gestures reminded me of Zhao-Cai-Mao, the Japanese symbol of good fortune. This symbol is nowadays also a very popular symbol in the Chinese culture, and I did not have to walk far before I noticed one doing his magic in one of the clothing stalls.

Zhao-Cai-Mao-XGA.gif

Here are a few more of the hand gestures I found in the market.

Seller
Buyer
_JOH1206_300.jpg
_JOH1205_300.jpg
Buyer and Seller
Seller and Buyer
_JOH1177_300.jpg
_JOH1218_300.jpg
Buyer
Seller
_JOH1203_300.jpg
_JOH1208_300.jpg

Buyer and Seller

_JOH1198_HD.jpg

This is my #streetphotography entry for the week.

Hope you enjoy it.

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-09-07T14:55:54
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 859.22/1600.00
Total Photos: 53
Total comments: 5
Total contest wins: 11
And have also received a 4.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97