Photography using cristal ball, why not?

in #photomag5 years ago (edited)

As most of y'all know I traveled to Canada last summer and there's one thing I didn't tell you all the details about. This trip was mostly about nature and photography, so learning something knew is always a good thing. To make it more interesting I carried a eleven cm cristal ball with me as an extra objective to shoot at. I've seen some photo's in magazines and even on Steemit before I took off to Canada, it had my interest immediately.

My first try was at the famous Lake Louise.

For the thumbnail I'll show you an example first.

_DSC0309.JPG

For this post I show the RAW photo's which @guchtere will mock me for I'm sure, but I want to tell and show you how difficult it is. Below you see the scenery as it is. Lots of light and unfortunately lots of people as well. This was one of the reasons I didn't want to zoom a lot, you'd see everybody walking along the water. When you're looking for a pose try to think what you want to see in your ball. The diafragma (opening of the lens) is important. With a high number F32, more on the photo is sharp. With a low number F1.4 only the AF focus spot is sharp and anything around it isn't. Unfortunately it also let in light. So I couldn't go to low with my F number otherwise the photo was one light bulb.

For the first photo above I tried to capture the glacier in the ball, but it is super hard to focus. That's why the second photo is a lot closer to the ball. Now as you can probably tell, everything in the ball is upside down. This gives it a nice effect. Though, I wasn't happy with the holder the ball was resting at. The brown color was to distracting for the rest of the photo.
_DSC0308.JPG

_DSC0310.JPG

So for the third photo I asked my gf to hold the ball. We had to do this quickly because we forgot about the sun and the magnifying effect of the glass ball. Withing seconds a pinpoint of sunbeams focussed on her hand which burned her skin a little. Luckily she didn't threw away the glass ball. So anyhow, after burning my gf for a tiny bit I turned the photo to see the effect in the ball the correct way. The blurry background isn't a distraction at all. What do you think?

_DSC0318.jpg

Glacier road

The second spot was beside a lake that was perfectly still. Not a gust of wind and the hill on the other side was a nice view to capture in the ball. I'm curious which photo you like the most. Please tell me in the comments which one you prefer the most. Or maybe you don't like both of them, feel free to tell me as well.

bewerkt 2 (1 of 1).jpg

_DSC0447.JPG

Takakkaw Falls, Yoho National Park

For the last spot I had troubles with the fog coming of the waterfall. We didn't have a lot of time to take photo's. I try to stick to one rule, always enjoy nature by looking threw your eyes at least as much as threw your camera. The different thing I did this time is turning the whole photo again, but this time the background is clearly visible. A waterfall upside down is strange, yet interesting.

_DSC5318.JPG

_DSC5319bew..jpg

Remember the last photo, because this one will come back later in one of my next posts. I liked this one so much that I came with an idea to do something else with this photo as well. As you might see, this last photo is also adjusted with Lightroom. I had to do this to turn the photo upside down and I couldn't resist to swipe the contrast a little. Now the ball really jumps out of my screen and the waterfall looks more clear on the dark rock formation.
I hope you like my first experience with the glass ball as well as I did. It takes some effort to get the hang of it, but I think it is all worth it. Any ideas where I can use this ball besides water?


All photo's are taken by me with the Nikon D90.
If you like to read/see more feel free to comment on my posts.
A upvote/resteem is highly appreciated

signature.gif

Sort:  

Truly incredible photographs, @dboontje!

That is quite fascinating! Your photos are incredible. I have never seen this done before and I do hope you do more!

Hi, thanks. It won't be anytime soon. But I will definitely use it more often.

Posted using Partiko Android

I'll look forward to it!

Cool. I am not normally a fan of those balls but I do like the ones at Takakkaw Falls. How long were you in Canada for?

Hey man, I know what you mean. Its a bit of a hype maybe. But it is not as easy as it might look like. Focusing on your subject is quite hard.
I've been in Canada for 3,5 weeks and it was awesome. If you're interested you can check my older posts.

Posted using Partiko Android

Cool. How much longer have you got to go?

O I'm sorry, this was last summer. Unfortunately I had to go back home. Work and stuff...

Posted using Partiko Android

I see. The Canadian Rockies are not that far from where I am based.

O stop making me jealous! 😜

Posted using Partiko Android

That's soooo beaufitul! Did you try to put it sooo close to lens that it will distort the whole picture? If you like these kinds of optic experiments try photographing with prism :>

One of mine examples:

Hi @saunter

Thanks, I didn't try to cover the whole photo with the ball. At least I think so. I might have tried it but it didn't work out. What mysterious photo you have! Can you tell me a little about it? Or do you have a post that shows us what you're doing?
Anyhow, thanks for stepping by.

OMG they are so cool!! I really like the Glacier Road close up. I kinda hate myself. I bought a crystal ball especially for this sorta stuff and I forgot to bring it with me when i went to BC 😱 😱 😱

O my, you missed out big time! Allthough it is kinda heavy at some times. As much as we like hiking, carrying weight with us isn't ideal. Of all the hikes I made I dragged it with me to four spots in total.
Did you practice with the ball already? And can I see it?

I would imagine it getting heavy hiking around, I don't bring most of my camera gear on hikes and stick to the minimal set up for that specific reason. After water, food, equipment etc... weight adds up fast and it is cumbersome.

I didn't practice at all yet, That's what I was suppose to do in BC since it's quiet an I didn't have to deal with ppl walking in font while I'm trying to get the hang of it. I'll take it around E- town sometimes this week tho, there is a back alley downtown that is like legal gratify central done by a bunch of famous artists, I'm sure I will post them if I get some successful attempts.

I can't wait to see the results, even when it's not as you hoped for.

Really interesting effect! I think my favorite is actually the one with the glacier (the upside down one with your gf holding the ball) I think I prefer when you cannot see the background so much, makes it look more magic :)

Hi @frejafri
Thanks, I think that's my favorite too. I will definitely bring it on my next trip. The only thing is that I have figure out what my next trip will be.

If I'm correct it will be 🏄‍♂️? 😇

It won't be upcoming trip!

Posted using Partiko Android

These photos are amazing!
Congratulations!
And thank you to share them with us.
Photography is one of the most used tags and there are also bad contests, but you photos are very good!!!
Good job and Steem on!

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh man, now you really made me desire one as well, the photos look awesome.

It is not expensive really. But the best option would be to borough one! It's pretty heavy for such a small ball and you're only using it for photo's.

Hello @dboontje, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank you @creativecrypto
It is highly appreciated!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62267.50
ETH 2992.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71