You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Saturday Plankton Party (writing/photography contest) new life to steemit

in #photohraphy5 years ago (edited)

I never really looked that far into picture ratios, more so stating what I would like to up-vote for newbies. I just kept doing my thing, the community mentality is just different than it was a year ago, even last summer and now many are more focused on trying to do what's right for the platform and with a lot less spam, creating new opportunities for visibility. The platform was a bit sleepy for a while but it's starting to bud again.

Sort:  

Don't know if it's still like this, but I used to peruse the new photo feed and it was chalk full of images taken from a Google search, with no credit to the author and no text. I'm glad to hear that quality is becoming important again.

The last HF kinda put that to bed and it has slowed but I notice some are starting to come back, that's why I'm trying to stimulate natural talents, I see a lot of post with 1 picture with repetitive theme from newbies thinking it's going to be their break thru to fortunes. Besides, when I was new, entering competitions and win a bit of steem to power up + a few followers each time has helped me build quite a bit.

I think the bigger fish realized what was fun and full of drama may not have been the best of optics or loving environment (lol) to attract new users and have them stay and grow. The big difference is no bid-bots, to make it to the top you now at least have to know someone or just write good content can't just bid-bot a piece of trash to the trending page anymore.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61238.93
ETH 2454.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59