Scott Photo Friday: Sunrise Over Lake of the Arbuckles

in #photographyfeed6 years ago (edited)

Darkness 14.jpg

Ren and I were camping at the Chickasaw National Recreation Area (Sulpher, OK, area) and our campsite was right on the Lake of the Arbuckles. I woke up just before sunrise and there was a heavy fog over the lake. I paused just long enough to put my shoes on and grabbed my camera. Moments like these don't happen nearly as often as I would like, and they don't last long. Fifteen minutes later the sun cleared the horizon, and the light was entirely different and far less interesting.

You have to be ready to catch these moments when they happen. If you hesitate you will miss the shot. A few weeks ago Ren and I were driving down a country road in Missouri when we topped a hill and there was a band of mist rising from a creek, and the sun was just rising while the rays were filtered through the trees and hitting the mist; the effect was amazing. Ren was driving and I told her to turn around. It couldn't have been two minutes before we were back to the spot, but the effect was gone. Landscape photography is like that.

Darkness 15.jpg

You cannot control when all the elements will come together. The best you can do is get out to amazing places as often as possible, and give yourself as many chances as possible to get the shot. There is certainly an element of luck, but if you are not out there ready to take the shot, you will never have the chance to get lucky. The lazy man has no luck.

Safe Travels
signaturescott.png

Sort:  

Chic article. I learned a lot of new things. I signed up and voted. I will be glad to mutual subscription))))

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=xcountytravelers
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=scott-photo-friday-sunrise-over-lake-of-the-arbuckles


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

What a beautiful view to wake up to and what a great shot!! This kind of moments are breathtaking! Hope you guys have a great day!

I remember how happy Scott was was when he was taking these photos. He was almost giddy. Such adorableness.
Ren

Hahaha that so cute! I would also get much excitement taking such breathtaking scenery especially if it happens so quickly you have to have your camera ready!

Posted using Partiko iOS

My goodness - that is a breathtaking photo!!!! :)

wow... @bluefinstudios - did you see this?? incredible! I love how golden the sun is - and how its reflected into the water too!!! and that fog is just magical :)

Really extraordinary shot!!!

Love from your Quad <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57800.38
ETH 3127.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40