I Visit Nikon Museum (with Shameful Fujifilm Camera)

in #photography8 years ago

So, I took a stroll to the Nikon Museum in Tokyo (just blocks from Shinagawa station). Being a Nikon Fanboy for the last 8 years, I was very excited to see the Nikon Museum during my visit in Japan. However, I had just sold all my Nikon gear and gotten my new love --the Fuji X system. So, I took these photos with my new Fuji XT-1 camera as well as some with my cell phone camera. All photos from the Fuji are straight out of the camera JPEGs with only cropping and straightening done to them.

The museum is in a tall office building that houses the Nikon corporate offices. It has no real signs or designations, other than the address of a pair of lovely skyscrapers. I went in and finally found it after wandering for some 15 minutes. Thus, I do not have photos of the exterior of the museum as it would just be a generic-looking modern office building.

All pics were taken by me and can be clicked to make them larger.

Imgur
Cut Through of a Nikon DSLR

Imgur
The Layout and Size of the Main Exhibit Hall

Imgur
Futuristic Japanese Interactive Presentations

Imgur
Lens & Light Artwork

Imgur
Company Timeline

Imgur

Imgur

Imgur

Imgur
Advent of Nikkor

Imgur
Learning from German Engineers

Imgur
Nikon "F." Nikons First SLR Camera

Imgur
Press Cameras

Imgur

Imgur
World's Longest Lens (1200-1700mm f/5.6-8) Mounted on an F4

Imgur
Description of Longest Lens

Imgur
Nikon's First DSLR (1995)

Imgur
Wall of (nearly) Every Nikon Camera Made

Imgur

Imgur

Imgur

Imgur

Imgur
Gold Nikon FA

Imgur
Famous Lenses

Something that really amazed me is how much these camera companies do in other fields such as astronomy, medicine, semiconductor production, eyewear, etc...

Imgur
Nikon-Made Synthetic Glass Ingot. Glass is cut from these ingots to make optical components in the semiconductor fabrication, astronomy, and medical fields.

Imgur
(Enlarge Photo to Read Description)

Imgur
Semiconductor Lithograph

Imgur
Gigantic Projection Lens

Imgur
Gigantic Projection Lens

If you like my work, please click here to follow me and see my other posts, including my recent one on Hiroshima. Thanks!

Sort:  

Very enjoyable post, thank you so much for sharing.

Great post, very informative. Don't feel ashamed at all, I also (like many other photographers) sold all my Nikon gear and upgraded to the Fujifilm system.

Haha thanks. The shameful comment was just a joke. I really love my Fuji gear and mirrorless really is the future.

Very interesting post! Thanks for sharing!

Love museums! Thank you for sharing, and the post on Hiroshima was devastating, but beautiful as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63161.84
ETH 3061.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97