Southern California "Super Bloom"

in #photography7 years ago

Last month I was lucky enough to experience the "Super Bloom" at Carrizo Plain in Southern California. After so many successive years of drought, we finally experienced something of a reprieve with a wet winter - and boy were the results out of this world.

Carrizo Plain, the half-mile-high valley where these images are from, is a fascinating, desolate, and ruggedly exquisite place that seems almost removed from reality. Getting to the heart of it requires driving about 40-45 miles off the closest major highway, and then braving another 25 miles or so of dirt - or, at best, sporadically paved - road. Other than a few abandoned homesteads and isolated campsites, there's virtually nothing around except hillsides and sunshine.

Too bad I did not have a solar-powered car! Fortunately I filled up the tank of my hybrid beforehand at the last outpost of human civilization among the rather surreal oilfields abutting the foothills that lead to the valley.

The gas station looks almost like it's out of a David Lynch movie, doesn't it?

About me.

Sort:  

Wow! Those are some gorgeous shots! The purple flower one made me think of the field of sleeping flowers in 'The Wizard of Oz.' Lol

OMG you're so right.

Those photos are amazing! I made sure to follow you @zoedolan

The experience was truly out of this world! Thank you so much for your support! I am very excited to explore Steemit and share my writing and art on this platform. Thanks again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59176.07
ETH 2667.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42