Sharing Some Black and White Photography

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

These shots were taken when we took the kids to Stilts Calatagan, a beach resort about three hours drive from Manila.

The photos were taken using a Canon G7X. Shutter speed was 1 minute and above, depending on the amount of light. I started taking the pictures at dusk. I used to enjoy photography about a decade ago, and even invested in a DSLR and a few lenses, had to let go of them because they were a pain in the neck to carry, and it feels like bringing a tank to a fistfight as i'm only using it to take pictures of my kids.

I then downgraded to a more compact point and shoot, the Fuji X-10 (which produced excellent results) and now moved to the Canon G7x Mk2, which suits our needs more -- lightweight, fits most pockets, takes decent pictures, a decent zoom range, and stabilized videos.

Enjoy!

BONUS Pictures: :)

Zeppelin and me (right before he jumped into the water and swam to shore LOL)

Contemplating

Our kids :)

Our youngest, Vedder, who keeps us sane.

.
.
.
.
.
.
.


a brief background:
My name is Erwin, a work-from-home dad living in San Pablo City, Philippines. We have three kids, Kirsten, Zeppelin (the start of this blog), and Vedder.

Zeppelin, or Zepp as we fondly call him, was born with a severe infection that resulted in the lack of oxygen during the first moments of his life.

He was behind developmentally in his first years, and was finally diagnosed with GDD (Global Developmental Delay) when he turned 2 by a Developmental Pediatrician

We threw in everything, including the kitchen sink, so he could have his therapies -- occupational, speech and as well as special education, with the hopes that he'll improve before 7 years old -- the time when the brain is at its most malleable. He's now past that age, and have only gained little improvement.

He has the cognitive skills of a 2 year old, language skills of a 1 year old, motor skills of a pre-schooler, and the appetite of a full-grown adult.

I love him with all of my heart.

Instagram: special_needs_daddy

Shameless Plug

If you haven't read it yet, please do take the time to read the beautifully-written A Day In The Clouds which chronicles one of Zepp's misdaventures.

Sort:  

Beautiful black and white photography. I hope your son continues to improve, he looks very happy in the photos!

Thank you! It is very much appreciated. He loves the water. That's why we take him out to the beach or to a pool as much as we can.

Great photos. The black and whites came out awesome.

Great photos! You should've done the Black and White challenge here haha! I mean, you could still do it even without a nomination.

Thank you! I will try to look for decent-enough pictures to post

The pier looks great! I wish you had more photos to show!

Thank you. The Steem community has revived my love for taking pictures that I thought I've lost years ago. :)

Great to hear man! The steemit community will do a lot for people like you :)

I'm from curation team @ocd and @curie. I got my eyes on your articles!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63030.98
ETH 2594.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74