Hey steemians, I'm new here

in #photography5 years ago

Hi, my name is Samuel and I'm here to share my photography and knowledge to the community.

My journey started in 1990 in Geneva, a city at the end of a lake with a big water fountain. When I was young I used to draw castles and spaceships, I didn't wanted to become an astronaut and I soon realized that being an architect was not my cup of tea. I also crossed firefighter of my list, as I did enjoyed building up little scale models of cities in the chimney of the apartment and setting them on fire.

I grew up with artists parents, my mom was the idealist, the utopist, on the contrary my dad was the pragmatic, analytical and pessimistic. She worked as a teacher, he worked in IT. I remember playing one of my first video game on Windows 3.1, Prince of Persia (what a nightmare). Soon enough I was rail-gunning people in Quake, building up heavily armored outposts in C&C Tiberian Sun and trying to wrap my head around Simcity.

That's when I found out about map editors (in Warcraft and Starcraft, and then later in Counter Strike), I was fascinated by this ability of changing the game. It led me to get an interest in 3D and influenced me to enter art school.

Art school was a revelation for me, I discovered a world and people who were just like me. I studied graphic design and interactive media design, I worked in different companies during my studies (something you can do in Switzerland, you spend 50% of your time at school and the rest in a real job who also teach you practical things) exploring various mediums (photography, web design, 3D, sound, video etc...).

I ended up landing a job as a 3D designer in an agency and worked there for international brands, it was very stressful but also very rewarding and I learned a ton. Eventually the crazy rythm affected me and I did my first burnout in 2014.

I gave myself some time, worked for another smaller company for about a year then went back to the same agency (what a stupid move) only to realize I would burnout again if I stayed. And one evening in 2015 after a really bad day at the office I went to the Botanical garden and shot a series of images that would completly change the path of my career.

Samuel_Zeller_Botanical_Arecaceae_Palmae_3372.jpg

Samuel_Zeller_Hoxton_Mini_Press_Botanical_3378b.jpg

The few images I took instinctively that day ended up being shared on various blogs and websites, an editor contacted me, a camera brand got in touch... And at the end of 2015 I was starting a long term project to do a book with those images, I got invited to become an ambassador for Fujifilm and I landed my first client. Three months later I dropped the agency and started working as a freelancer.

It wasn't an easy ride, the first year I got very lucky with finding a few clients quickly and doing projects after projects but then life came into play and my dad got admitted to the hospital around December 2016. And because one thing usually come with another my mom was at the same time in hospital as well but for psychological problems.

I had my father dying and my mother turning crazy (to the point were you don't recognize the person, the very soul who gave you life and raised you). I had to balance between the two, visiting them both frequently. On February 14th 2017 in the middle of the night I received a call, I woke up still groggy and joined my grand-mother and uncle, we walked to the clinic and they make us seat around a table, there was a few plants, I remember the coffee machine, my father was gone.

papa-guitare.jpg

Photography is all that I had left at this moment, and the project of turning images in a book. I let the rest of 2017 take me with it's current, I kept working, doing projects, earning money by myself. The loss was my fuel, he was so proud of what I was doing and I wasn't gonna let him down. At the end of 2017 I finished all the images of Botanical, my first book, it got published in April 2018 by Hoxton Mini Press. It's dedicated to him.

I do my best to teach what I know to other people, to let them realize that it's possible to do what you love, to help them on their journey. I'm still struggling with depression from time to time, staying motivated and keeping a structure isn't always easy specially when you don't have colleagues, an office or a boss.

I'm not sure how to end this text, I'll just say thank you for reading and that I hope we'll all make each other grow.

Sort:  

Hey, welcome to the club...
And damn I would say You got a lot of luck! After 6 years of my photography trials and boxes of medals no one agency or camera brand have contacted me...

Well, that's how things works in real world :D

Manually curated by PhotoStreem: The Photography Tribe
Join Photostreem DISCORD
Follow the Trail

banner_1-Axe.jpg

Congratulations @axeman, you are successfuly trended the post that shared by @zeller!
@zeller will receive 0.82288913 TRDO & @axeman will get 0.54859275 TRDO curation in 3 Days from Post Created Date!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

What a story. I can relate to the drill. Nicely written.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you!

You got some love from a member of @thealliance family!
Keep up the great work!
The #spreadlovenotwar curation campaign is under the guidance of witnesses @enginewitty and @untersatz.
Current VP: 98.43%

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @enginewitty.


@helpie is a Community Witness.

Nomnomnom! Thank you, I'm hungry now :)

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @enginewitty on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, with each individual living their best life, and being responsible for their own well being. #innerblocks Check it out at @innerblocks for the latest information and community updates, or to show your support via delegation.

Welcome to Steem zeller! Partiko is officially the fastest and most popular mobile app for Steem. Unlike other Steem apps, we take 0% cut of your earnings! You can also be rewarded with Partiko Points while using Partiko and exchange Partiko Points for upvotes!

Partiko for Android can be downloaded here on Google Play and the iOS version is available here on the App Store.

If you have more questions, feel free to join our Discord channel and ask @crypto.talk, we're always here to help!

Thank you so much for your interest!

Hello Samuel, what a touching intro. You'll find a lot of love and support from fellow Steemians here who will stand out by the light that shines through them.

I just checked your website out and you share some beautiful photography. I'd like everyone to see your work here. I'm glad you found Steemit, we're happy you joined us.

I've left out the welcome mat for you so you'll feel right at home! :)


source

Welcome on Steemit!

Welcome to Steemit! It's really a great place for the enthusiast writers and for the people who want to share their good work with the world! :)

Excellent introduction, wow. Glad you found your passion! I'll be following to see how your journey goes!

@tipu curate

Thank you! I realized only later in my life that both my parents did photography when they were younger, before I was born. Things that you think are your own feelings are sometimes more like a reflection and accumulation of your past, of your childhood or even before that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60147.92
ETH 2613.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55