Vietnam

Vietnam.jpg

This is an unsigned photograph I bought at a local thrift store. A new worker from East Africa was attending to the area of the store where they keep a basket of antique and vintage photographs.

I chatted with her for a bit about how I liked to come in and look at the pictures. I showed her a black and white portrait of a merchant seaman from World War II. His picture looked just like everyone else from that time I've seen.

She thought he was someone famous. "Who is that?" She asked. Of course I didn't know. All the soldiers looked like movie stars in their photos from that time.

I gasped when I uncovered this one of two Vietnamese women. They each only have one shoe.

I said, "They don't look very happy, do they?"

My new acquaintance replied, "It was an unhappy time, the war."

I couldn't help but laugh a bit at my ignorant observation.

I love this picture, though. It only cost fifty cents.

I am half Vietnamese, and I can relate to the forlorn look on their faces. I hope things improved for them.

Sort:  

Congratulations @younitedstates! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61123.08
ETH 2628.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46