Orion & Horsehead Nebulae [3415x5160]

in #photography6 years ago


This is one of my earliest Astronomy pictures reprocessed. The source data consists of only 20 minutes shot with an unmodified 7D and the lovely Canon 200mm f/2.8 L at f/3.6 and ISO 1600 - PixInsight is a real beast.

This was back in 2012 - I miss being a student and having infinite spare time :/

Sort:  

This looks amazing...
Was it one 20 minutes shot, or stacking worth of 20 minutes?

Thanks! :)
It's a stack of 20 60-second shots.
Stacking is a common practice in Astrophotography to deal with (thermal-)noise and inaccuracies of your tracking.

Yeah, I know, that's why I was asking. I've started with this some time ago, but it's not easy to find time for it. I'll try to start again this spring...

Thank you!
Stumbled upon your other post - your writing is interesting, if a little bit incoherent if you don't mind the criticism :)

yes no problem thank you, it is very vulgar writing because it is complicated to understand for the novice, way fiction

This is awesome. So far I’ve managed to take some pics of the moon pretty clearly. And did manage to snap some of the stars visibility enough lol. Don’t know enough about astronomy photography but happy my play shots worked out.

thank you :) Yupp, it's a tough learning process, I also started way more basic with just a tripod

You got a 3.23% upvote from @mercurybot courtesy of @yblith!

AHHHH!!! This is wildly special, thank you :)

Glad you like it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59933.20
ETH 3191.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44