Photo of the Selection in Auschwitz (Holocaust) - Who dies and Who lives. One of a kind photo

in #photography6 years ago

I was in the exact same spot with my family a year ago. We flew to poland to see everything, it was really emotional and sad to see everything. We saw hairs,clothes, cooking utensils and much more of the holocaust victims.
I found a picture of DR. Josef Mengele deciding who goes to work and who goes to the gas chambers.
This photo is from May 1944 and it's a one of a kind photo. Just so you know ofc - alot of the people in this photo have been killed in the gas chamber.

232.jpg

Sort:  

I agree with @ozhiya this is a very powerful and profound photograph. It's a great thing. you've done @yairdd by sharing this and remind people of what went on and the permanent​ scars left.

I'll have to say that @ozhiya and @ahley about said all that I could of said. Thanks, @yairdd for posting a reminder.

So sad. Not everyone will understand the gravity of this photograph nor of your post. Most will see it and say yes the Shoah was such a tragedy and must never happen again but they truly do not get the true meaning of weight this tragedy left among our people. I've not made it to Poland myself to say I've been in the very place that some of my family once was rushed thru on the train tracks and forced selections... I would like to go but I know it'll be a very emotional time for me. Sorry for rambling here... This post and photograph invoke a lot of emotions for me. Thanks for posting.

Your emotions are understandable. It's hard for most of the people, but i don't think it should prevent you from going in the future.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94