The Story of an Abandoned Duck Nest — #ASWContest EntrysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

ASW.jpg

I find eggs, and nests, endlessly fascinating — magical, sacred, evocative things — how they are like a world unto themselves, heralding new life and unknown possibilities. Around 3 years ago, I found a small egg belonging to a pigeon, in the same large flower pot pictured above and, I admit, went slightly bird mad for about a year or two...

Said pigeon, who laid that first fateful egg, let me feed her, help her to build a nest (when papa pigeon was late, absent or lazy, who knows) as well as watch her young ones grow:

The picture below, for example, is with a youngster (from yet another pigeon family) who lost his dad before he could teach him how to fly - so I became especially close to the little guy.

When, eventually, he did take to the sky, the young guy would return to my balcony every evening, at 5pm, to spend some quality time and groom my facial hair (presumably, as a form of bonding/appreciation):

Now, Back to That Abandoned Duck Egg!

With all the avian activity on my balcony that came with raising pigeons (attacking hawks, squawking parrots, etc...) I was a little surprised, but not very, when a duck showed up on my balcony, one morning. I was more surprised when I learned that the male of this type of duck, Muscovy, does not fly, and their more attractive female counterpart does - but not very high - as we were living on the 10th floor.

After a short investigative visit, the shy graceful creature flew away. The next day to my wonder and delight, I found she'd laid a large egg in that lucky, bird-friendly flower pot. I didn't know what to do with it, since mama was not there, so I let it be. For the next 9 days, mama duck would return to lay one egg a day and, before she flew off for the evening (presumably to the nearby cemetery, where I'd seen such ducks) she would, carefully, bury her eggs (out of predator's sight?) and cover them with this amazing, cottony/ silky web.

I was on cloud 9 and would strain to catch a glimpse of the swan-like duck, as she came and went. Then, one fine day, she decided to stay, and sit all day long, on her family-to-be:

The Nest, as mama duck leaves it for the evening - all 9 of her eggs elegantly covered up... Moscovi .. 3rd floor... pigeons, first... cemetery... from iphone.jpg

We developed a tentative rapport, she and I (she was not as friendly as the pigeons) but she'd let me spray her with a fine mist, on hot days, and would proceed to groom herself. The pigeons continued returning to my busy balcony, and they, reluctantly, accepted that they'd been somewhat unseated, certainly, in the now-occupied flower pot and to an extent in my heart, too, as I was primarily preoccupied with making the elegant newcomer comfortable.

duck 3.jpg

Then, one day, just as the marvelous duck had come out of the blue, so she disappeared. I kept waiting and wondering, but she never returned. Had my overly-eager attentions frightened her off, was the activity on my balcony excessive for her taste, was she wounded, dead? I would never know. I was only left with the abandoned flower poet and her unattended eggs (which never hatched). Emboldened by her long absence, the pigeons took over, once again...

Sort:  

What a bittersweet story... and amazing experiences with wildlife!

Once, when we lived in Florida, my ex wife and our small child called me out to the deck of the house where we lived. There was a wounded dragonfly, flying very loudly round and round in wide panicky circles because one of its wings wasn't working properly.

I caught it and held it and spoke to it, in what I hoped was a reassuring voice, until it had calmed down, and once it did, it didn't try to fly again. It clung to my clothes or to my body, wherever I put it, and just stayed there. Later, once it had got used to us, also to my ex and our child.

It was really large, maybe 4 or 5 inches long, a bright neon green with gigantic iridescent eyes and wings. There was a wound on its side, just where the wings met the body.

When we went to sleep we left it in a large jar with some vegetation and some water. We may have also put some dead flies or mosquitoes in there in case it got hungry, I don't remember.

In the morning, it was there, still alive, ready to be picked up and admired, and to ride around on our bodies.

Some time later in the day, when I paused to take a look at it, I noticed that it seemed to be looking back at me rather intently. It was perched on one of my fingers. I raised my finger to my face so that I could meet its gaze, and after a long moment it grabbed my nose with its front legs. It pulled itself, and my hand, right up to my face with its legs, less than half a centimeter, but with a strength I wasn't expecting. I remember the sensation of it - its feet were sharp and dug into my skin, stinging just slightly. It brought its face right up to my face, and we stayed like that for a moment. Then it let go.

And when I moved my hand away from my face, it took off and flew!

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64777.26
ETH 3101.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84